EP Review: Kite – The All Penetrating Silence (Sludgelord Records)

On June 8th 2018 Sludgelord Records will digitally release The All Penetrating Silence by Norwegian post-metal/sludge band Kite.

Kite 2

The title track sets the bar early. Kicking off with wonderfully sluggish riffs and heavily indented drums before the vocals sneak in to sit comfortably amongst the beat as if they’ve been there all along.

While ticking a lot of the boxes for sludge, the more varied guitar efforts show the post-rock side of Kite off nicely. Neither gets the major focus and instead of sounding confused, it actually holds together very well.

Entropic Ruin then takes the ball and sets off with purpose. Much deeper groove, the rock side is turned up resulting in a thrilling listen. It’s the kind of song that you play to a non-fan to convince them of Kite’s quality.

Halfway done, Pissingwell and Sin Beyond Sin make up the second half of the EP. The former providing a chuggy depth and more melodramatic vocal range while the latter is sludge at its finest. Not quite doom but treading the murky line perfectly.

What more can you ask for? Exceptionally dark while showing off genuine moments of invention. A worthy investment of your time.

Kite 1

Kite – The All Penetrating Silence Full Track Listing:

1. The All Penetrating Silence
2. Entropic Ruin
3. Pissingwell
4. Sin Beyond Sin



You can order the EP now via Kite’s Bandcamp and Sludgelord Records here. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking their Facebook Page. You can also listen to tracks now via Soundcloud.

Kite - The All Penetrating Silence (Sludgelord Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *