Band Interview: Dead Venus

Games, Brrraaains & A Head-Banging Life are pleased to bring you an interview with progressive rock band, Dead Venus.

Buy Me a Coffee at

1. How did you get started as a band?

(Seraina) I formed Dead Venus in early 2015. First I was on the road as a solo artist with Piano and Acoustic Guitar. But then I decided that I need a team to develop my ideas. Dead Venus was never supposed to be a “Singer-Songwriter-Thing” so I started looking for the right people to play my music with.

Mike Malloth (drums) answered my call and recommended bassist Andre Gaertner to complete the trio. I still play the keyboards or guitars besides the singing of course.

2. How would you describe your sound?

We have many influences but the important thing for us is to be authentic so we always try to create our very own sound. That’s why we use the term “progressive-rock” for our music. You can’t exactly describe what “progressive-rock” is – it’s just music without any genre specific limits and that’s what we like.

3. What bands/artists would you say have influenced your style of music?

As already written before we are listening to many different styles of music … Bands like Opeth, Pain of Salvation, Rush, Screaming Headless Torsos, Living Color, Pink Floyd, Dave Matthews Band, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Muse and many more… but also artists like Marilyn Manson, Björk and Christina Aguilera were somehow influencing the song writing.

4. Has the rise of YouTube & music streaming helped or hindered you as a band?

At the state of our career we currently are, it’s actually helpful. It’s much easier to get your music heard nowadays because of these platforms and we just use it as a free promotion tool.

5. What do you enjoy doing when you’re not making music?

I love to run or do sports in general or riding a motorbike.

6. What are your future plans musically? Tours?

We’re just finished with the mix of our next album „Flowers & Pain“ and can’t wait to release another single of the upcoming album on October 15th! We will also release TWO visualizers for the song which will be online on YouTube on October 22nd.

Furthermore we got a very special offer for our fans: Until the new album will be released, a four-piece-EP Package including four new songs as well as four special tracks is available and can be ordered (only) through the band now!

In case anybody is interested in ordering the physical EP-package please don‘t hesitate to contact us on FB, Instagram or write us an email to to order your copies.

We’re also very much looking forward to the Europe tour with Orphaned Land, which hopefully finally can take place in March/April 2022.

Thank you for the interview & CU on the road!
Stay colorful
Seraina from Dead Venus


Website | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube