Album Review: zhOra – Ethos, Pathos, Logos (Self Released)

Irish progressive sludge powerhouse zhOra are poised to release their sophomore album Ethos, Pathos, Logos on 27 October 2017.

zhOra 1

Vocalist Colin Bolger comments on the album:

“It’s a sprawling tale of a bloodthirsty despot, his feral minions, alien visitation and the illusion of choice. Set to the backdrop of frozen tundras, scorching deserts and panoptical imprisonment, Ethos, Pathos, Logos speaks to the hypocrite in all of us and shifts the gaze inward.”

The Stone brings with it some dark & doomy music. A track that allows the drums to dominate early before erupting into crushing heaviness. It pours directly into Riverchrist, a lesson in how to produce appealing yet sticky & soul-sucking sludge heaviness.

A concept album surrounding past lives & cannibalism, zhOra are looking to leave a deep impression on the listener. Rhythmic sludgy doom beats, heavy riffing, booming gruff vocals & a just a touch of melody ensures that impression is well & truly left.

The raw power of zhOra shine on tracks like Sin Eater, The Breach & Jettatura. Thumping sludgy metal track after thumping sludgy metal track. The softer (just about) & short Infernal Liturgy offers something of a break thanks to a more melodic guitar sound.

It’s short lived though as Turmoil brings back the nastier raw sound, like a sledgehammer to the head. The track title is a great way to describe the chaos that plays out. It’s then followed by one of the best tracks on the album. Rubic(On) The Styx is zhOra showing that they know how to deliver memorable & soul-searching melody. A wonderful listen that is followed by the even deeper & emotive Earth’d.

A brilliant album comes to the a close with the wild sounding, hook heavy & brilliantly rhythmic Server, Seer, Soothsayer & the head-bangingly ferocity of Tabula Rasa.

zhOra have brought such pain, destruction & beauty with Ethos, Pathos, Logos. An album that will stay with you long afterwards.

zhOra 2

zhOra – Ethos, Pathos, Logos Full Track Listing:

1. The Stone
2. Riverchrist
3. Sin Eater
4. The Breach
5. Jettatura
6. Infernal Liturgy
7. Turmoil
8. Rubic(On) The Styx
9. Earth’d
10. Server, Seer. Soothsayer
11. Tabula Rasa

You can pick up bundles via Big Cartel & music over on Bandcamp. Find out more about zhOra on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram. You can also watch some of their videos on YouTube.

zhOra - Ethos, Pathos, Logos (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 9.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.