Album Review: Witchfinder – Hazy Rites (Black Bow Records)

French doom trio Witchfinder is excited to announce the release of their second LP, Hazy Rites, via Black Bow Records on April 1, 2019.

Following their 2017 S/T debut, Witchfinder chose Kozmik Artifactz for the vinyl release in 2018. After a successful tour with Witchthroat Serpent in October 2017, they hit the road with Stonebirds in May 2018 and toured all over France. Witchfinder has also shared the stage with the likes of Conan, Monolord, Kadavar, The Flying Eyes, Hangman’s Chair, and The Necromancers.

Witchfinder 2

All about seriously fuzzed out doom with added sludge and stoner elements, Witchfinder’s new album is a heavy beast. Powered by vibrating riffs, psychedelic vocals and thundering percussion.

It is without a doubt, one that really claws away at the brain matter. The slow rhythmic repeating riffs of Satan’s Hove. The extra level of horror in the vocals of Covendoom and unbelievable depths that Wild Trippin’ sinks too. Even if you think you’ve heard everything sludgy tripped out doom has to offer, Witchfinder will no doubt still surprise.

Especially as each of the seven tracks are lengthy passages of riffing and guitar leads. All with the added bonus of intensity that flares up like a bad rash, such as on Sorry. However the epic style of vocals is where Witchfinder really stand out. It fits so perfectly with the thrumming bass of Dans I’Instant, a highlight and thrilling finish.

Witchfinder 1

Witchfinder – Hazy Rites Full Track Listing:

1. Ouija
2. Satan’s Haze
3. Covendoom
4. Sexual Intercourse
5. Wild Trippin’
6. Sorry
7. Dans l’Instant

Witchfinder’s music can be picked up over on Bandcamp. Find out more about them via their Facebook Page and Instagram.

Witchfinder - Hazy Rites (Black Bow Records)
  • 8.5/10
    The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Rating 5 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!