Album Review: Twitch Of The Death Nerve – Beset By False Prophets (Comatose Music)

In the plagued year of 2020, Twitch Of The Death Nerve unleashed the spine-shattering insanity of their second full length album, A Resting Place For The Wrathful. Many bands would have been content to sit back and survey the triumphant devastation, but the death nerve keeps on twitching…

Returning to the studio the band laid down four monstrous new tracks. Not satisfied with releasing a four song EP, Twitch Of The Death Nerve have combined their latest frenzied assaults with a recording of their entire set at Xxxapada Na Tromba festival that took place in Lisbon, Portugal in January 2020, before the jaws of lockdown snapped shut.

Called Beset By False Prophets, the combo album will be released on March 12th 2021 via Comatose Music.

There’s a ton of bang for your buck here. Four brand new beastly offerings from the filth-mongers that is Twitch of the Death Nerve. Ten live monstrosities with all the rawness and roughness of the bands in person performances. Plenty of brutal death metal for fans to sink their teeth in.

With, of course, the first four new offerings being the major appeal of this record. It’s no surprise that Twitch of the Dead Nerve are absolutely spiting blood on these new offerings. As savage as ever, this band throw their all into delivering the highest level of brutal death metal and it always pays off. If your taste leads towards guttural fury then you’re in for a treat, should you normally shy away from this level of horror, you might find yourself sucked into the drain that Beset By False Prophets inhabits.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Talking of swirling the drain though, having never seen Twitch of the Death Nerve live, it’s hard to not desperately want too after hearing the live portion of this record. First things first, the sound quality is great but we also get plenty of crowd noise (at least what you are capable of hearing over their racket) to add that authenticity. The chaos, the circle pits, the sweat and blood, you can hear it all. There’s no way this show ended without a few broken bones or bloody noses. As a showcase of what they sound like live, it’s very strong. Nothing out of the ordinary, it is brutal death metal after all, but the sound of a band on top form.

Twitch of the Death Nerve – Beset By False Prophets Full Track Listing:

1. The Wages of Faith
2. Facadism
3. At the Trial of the Exhumed Pope
4. Confounded by Apophenia
5. Intro (Live)
6. The Locard Principle (Live)
7. A Resting Place for the Wrathful (Live)
8. Ochlocratic Prostration (Live)
9. Apotropaic Sacrification (Live)
10. Of Rutting Beasts and Drifting Herds (Live)
11. This Sickening Frailty (Live)
12. Witness to Ruination (Live)
13. A Hundred and Twenty Days In Sodom (Live)
14. Promulgation of Infected Innards (Live)


Website | Facebook | Comatose Music

Twitch Of The Death Nerve - Beset By False Prophets (Comatose Music)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
8.3/10 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!