Album Review: Thormesis – Trümmerfarben (MDD Records)

Trümmerfarben is the fifth release from pagan black metal band, Thormesis. The album is out now via MDD Records.

Singer and guitarist Travos had this to say about the album: “I wanted the whole thing to sound like a big hit with pressure – and it does!”

Thormesis Band

Pagan music mixed with black metal…a combination that should really make your mouth water but isn’t one that is often talked about with much excitement.

The first song after the melodic intro, Trümmerfarben is a hell of a showpiece for what Thormesis can do. A catchy beat with sudden eruptions of blackened riffs & bloodied drumming, it’s as exciting an opener as you’d hope to get.

The most ear-catching things about the song & album as whole is how easily Thormesis slip from brutal & evil sounding heaviness to a more refined beat & melody. A lot of that is thanks to the disgustingly evil sounding vocals. It’s an absolute joy to listen too here.

It’s incredible just how catchy a lot of this music can be. Thormesis are making experimental music but not straying too far from their core sound. Waheelas Fährte is one of the best tracks I’ve heard this year, 7 and a half minutes of pure guitar driven beauty.

There isn’t an average song throughout its 48 minute run. Song after song puts a big smile on your face. Song after song is filled with heavy riffs, up-lifting melodic moments & a real feel of being on a journey with Thormesis.

Die Klagen der Einöde is as aggressive as any death metal song but holds your attention with a beat that is almost primal in its nature. It pulls at you, wanting you to join in the nearest circle pit. It really is fantastic especially when it briefly drops away to play a simple melodic tune before building back using a killer drum beat.

Things get even better (if that was actually possible) with the stunning Verblasst. A song tinged with emotion & packed with amazing vocal roars & screams. The best song on the album.

It’s incredibly sad when the realisation sinks in that the album is coming to an end. An up-tempo beat mixed with punchy metal riffs sells In Stille wachen die Toten to the ears. While the epic Im Herbst trugen sie mich fort caps a glorious listen off perfectly.

The use of cleaner vocals comes as a real surprise when they are dropped midway. It’s brief but offers some nice sounding variety to a song built on its stunning melodies. The strumming that leads into one final heavy hurrah is a moment where you just want to drop to your knees & thank the gods for Thormesis.

You’ll be breathless by the end & the beautiful piano melody that is the Outro is perfectly fitting.

Trümmerfarben is a fantastic piece of work, one that is bar setting for the position of best album of 2017. It’s going to be tough to beat.

Trümmerfarben Full Track Listing:

1. Intro – Aetas Nova
2. Trümmerfarben
3. Waheelas Fährte
4. Lodernd Flammen
5. Die Klagen der Einöde
6. Verblasst
7. In Stille wachen die Toten
8. Im Herbst trugen sie mich fort
9. Outro – Vale

Thormesis is out now & available to buy from streaming platforms such as iTunes. You can find out more about the band over on SoundCloud & on Facebook.

Thormesis - Trümmerfarben (MDD Records)
  • The Final Score - 10/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Comments Rating 0/10 (0 reviews)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.