Album Review: The Pretty Reckless – Other Worlds (Century Media Records)

The Pretty Reckless will release their new album, Other Worlds on November 4th, 2022, via Century Media Records. An album where they deliver their first proper acoustic recordings, unexpected covers, and other reimaginings, covering new territory once more.

Explains vocalist Taylor Momsen:

For a long time, we’ve been trying to figure out an alternative way of releasing music, including songs we love that didn’t make our records, covers, and alternate versions. We found a way to do this coherently and consistently with Other Worlds. We’re a rock band, so there are lots of electric guitars on our records. However, we’ve gotten incredible feedback from fans about our acoustic performances, and we’d never put those out in any real format. So, this is a different take on the traditional format of a record and a stripped back version of us that our fans haven’t really heard before, but it’s still us.

Remixes, acoustic variations, covers and guests, this new album from The Pretty Reckless is one for the fans, that much is sure. Favourites given a fresh coat of paint and The Pretty Reckless giving their listeners reason to feel cheerful again.

Kicking off with a remix of Got So High from their most recent fourth album, Death by Rock and Roll. The mellow rhythm, melody and synth-infused effects working wonderfully with Momsem’s breathy, yet powerful vocals. Before the first cover arrives and it’s a doozy. The Pretty Reckless paying tribute to the immortal Soundgarden with their impressive take on Loud Love. Nobody is matching Chris Cornell in the voice department but Momsen sure gives it a bloody good go in her own unique way.

Something she is able to channel but in a more fragile way on the sweet cover of Cornell’s The Keeper. A track that sees multi-instrumentalist, producer, and artist Alain Johannes handle guitar. A sure-fire hit on this album is going to be their cover of The Thin White Duke’s Quicksand though. It’s a stirring version that just feels so ‘Reckless’ and features David Bowie pianist Mike Garson.

The next three tracks are Pretty Reckless hits but given the acoustic treatment. 25, Only Love Can Save Me Now and Death by Rock and Roll. Each offers up familiarity but unique variations on well-loved tracks. The highlight being the moody power of 25.

It’s then back to the covers as The Pretty Reckless continue to show their love for Soundgarden as Momsen combine’s her talents with Matt Cameron for a foot-tapping and finger-snapping version of Halfway There. Then a grin-inducing version of Elvis Costello’s (What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding. Another track that is tailor-made for what The Pretty Reckless are as Momsen makes the lyrics feel more impactful than ever.

Buy Me a Coffee at

It’s one more acoustic number with the great Harley Darling given the melodramatic treatment to an extent that it could lull you to sleep. Followed then by the finale of Got So High (Album Version). A nice bookend considering it was a remix of this track that the album begun with.

It might seem like it’s one for the fans only but even those with a cursory interest in The Pretty Reckless will find plenty to enjoy here.

The Pretty Reckless – Other Worlds Full Track Listing:

1. Got So High (Remix)
2. Loud Love
3. The Keeper (Ft. Alain Johannes)
4. Quicksand (Ft. Mike Garson)
5. 25 (Acoustic)
6. Only Love Can Save Me Now (Acoustic)
7. Death by Rock and Roll (Acoustic)
8. Halfway There (Ft. Matt Cameron)
9. (What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding
10. Harley Darling (Acoustic)
11. Got So High (Album Version)


Spotify | Apple Music | Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | TikTok | YouTube


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

The Pretty Reckless - Other Worlds (Century Media Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
7.38/10 (13 votes)