Album Review: The Neptune Power Federation – Memoirs of a Rat Queen (Cruz Del Sur Music)

Bow to the Imperial Priestess! On Memoirs of a Rat Queen, Australian psychedelic rock and roll occultists The Neptune Power Federation have arrived to take you on a sonic journey like no other.

She came from outer space, a celestial being with supernatural powers, namely, inhuman vocals and a godly stage presence. She is the only one who can make four leather-clad bike-rockers readily dedicate their lives in subservience, ready to serve her in the name of rock and roll. Tales of her existence have already been shared, but there is a new chronicle, one that will shine a light on her trans-dimensional travels and accomplishments. Its name is Memoirs of a Rat Queen. Its subject? The Imperial Priestess. Her band? The Neptune Power Federation.


Formed in Australia in 2012, The Neptune Power Federation originally started as a studio project with a singer based in the United States. Their trajectory was forever changed when Imperial Priestess Screaming Loz Sutch joined the band in 2015. The Neptune Power Federation, who are rounded out by guitarists Inverted CruciFox and Search & DesTroy, bassist Jaytanic Ritual and drummer Mr. Styx, soon honed in on an image and sound that reflected progressive, metal and space rock, all with the goal of recreating music that was played from 1968 to 1978. Combined with an eye-catching stage presentation that finds the Imperial Priestess assuming the role of a time-traveling space witch, and what you have is one of the most distinctive bands to not only come out of Australia, but the world.

Memoirs of a Rat Queen is The Neptune Power Federation’s fourth studio album and will be released on September 27th 2019 via Cruz Del Sur Music.

The album title is inspired by eight diary entries authored by the Imperial Priestess that detail everything she has lived through, from her role in the French Revolution, being falsely accused of manifesting the Black Plague in medieval Germany, all the way to the time she took a lover in the parking lot outside of a Judas Priest concert in 1986.

Wow. Just wow. The concept behind the band, let alone the concept behind this album, is utterly fascinating. Read all of that above and tell me you don’t want to know what this band sound like?!

Well, at their core, they’re rock and roll. Catchy old school vibes warped with a psychedelic edge and delivered with precision. If you’re not bopping along to the guitar groove and catchy rhythms then chances are you’ll be in awe of Imperial Priestess Screaming Loz Sutch’s voice. What a bloody talent she is.

Bow down to the Imperial Priestess indeed.

With 8 great tracks to enjoy, spread across nearly 40 minutes, there is plenty to enjoy here and enjoy most will. From the poppy opener of Can You Dig to the guitar mastery of the excellently titled Flying Incendiary Club for Subjugating Demons to feel good power anthem that is I’ll Make A Man Out of You. So good and so much fun.

Do not miss out on this one.


The Neptune Power Federation – Memoirs of A Rat Queen Full Track Listing:

1. Can You Dig
2. Watch Our Masters Bleed
3. Flying Incendiary Club for Subjugating Demons
4. Rat Queen
5. Bound for Hell
6. I’ll Make A Man Out of You
7. Pagan Inclinations
8. The Reaper Comes For Thee




Bandcamp | Website | Facebook | Cruz Del Sur Music


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

The Neptune Power Federation - Memoirs of a Rat Queen (Cruz Del Sur Music)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)