Album Review: The Answer – Sundowners (Golden Robot Records)

After a long seven-year hiatus, Northern Irish rockers The Answer are set to make a spectacular and long-awaited return with their brand-new studio album ‘Sundowners’. Scheduled for release on St. Patricks day, March 17th, 202, via Golden Robot Records.

Says lead singer Cormac Neeson:

We’ve been through a lot as a band, toured the world, made six great records we’re all proud of, and always done our best to make honest and timeless music that connects with rock and music fans in general. After six albums and a lot of road miles we felt we needed to step back from it all and reset. Whilst that wasn’t an easy decision, with retrospect it’s possibly the best decision we’ve ever made because after seven years away we all came back fired up and the end result is an album we’ve been waiting to make our whole lives…full of good time rock n roll and positive energy created by four brothers who quite frankly just really missed each other. We’re back and we’re ready to bring our best album ever to you!

A very welcome return, The Answer have made their fanbase wait but all good things come to those who do, and Sundowners is a damn good thing.

Kicking off with a statement, the title track is a drawn-out blend of moody tones, given a dusty and dirty spin. Groovy, with just a hint of psychedelia, it’s not what many would expect as an intro to the album, but it certainly shows that The Answer are more than willing to experiment. Especially as it gets punchier and more powerful at the end, leading to The Answer exploding into life on the body-shaking energy of Blood Brother and shaking off any cobwebs with the fanciful California Rust. The use of the organ and a kick-ass chorus really makes the latter a memorable listen.

With heavier sounding riffs and a more robust drum/bass combo, Want You to Love Me keeps the focus exactly where it needs to be while giving listeners a ton of nuances to break down. This, followed by the dance-inducing, body-shaking, and feel-good tone of Oh Cherry and the heartfelt, melodious touch of No Salvation. Variety by the bucketload but still exclusively The Answer.

Buy Me a Coffee at

It’s no surprise that the rocking groove that has made The Answer such a beloved band would be the dominating feature of this record. Even with their more experimental faucets, tracks like Cold Heart, All Together, and Livin’ On the Line deliver on what fans demand and hope for with this band.

Leading to a combination that sees drama expelled in both energetic and touching fashion. The pairing of Get Back On It and Always Alright proving to be highlights of the entire record and a fitting conclusion to the overall experience.

The Answer are back. Rejoice.

The Answer – Sundowners Track Listing:

1. Sundowners
2. Blood Brother
3. California Rust
4. Want You to Love Me
5. Oh Cherry
6. No Salvation
7. Cold Heart
8. All Together
9. Livin’ On The Line
10. Get Back On It
11. Always Alright


Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

The Answer - Sundowners (Golden Robot Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)