Album Review: Symbolik – Emergence (The Artisan Era)

Having recently signed to The Artisan Era at the end of 2019, technical melodic death metallers Symbolik are proud to announce their upcoming debut album, Emergence. The album is set to drop on Friday, April 10th via The Artisan Era. It is the follow up to their highly-praised 2011 effort, Pathogenesis.

Symbolik comments on the release of Emergence:

Emergence is a concept that was developed over the last 8 years, bringing our ideas and inspirations to life through an auditory epic of sorts. The music itself was written over the span of the last decade, some songs being written back in 2010 all the way up to 2018 for others. All guitars, bass, vocals, and orchestrations were tracked by guitarist Allen Burton while drums, mixing, and mastering has been handled by Zack Ohren. Lyrically, this album is a tale of an individual who embarks on a journey of self-realization, death, and rebirth. It begins as an idea of infinite possibilities but with only one outcome. Sonically, the music flows seamlessly from chapter to chapter, implementing symphonic and neo-classical ideas along with a call and response structure that will guide you through the story as you go. Focusing closely on strong melodic passages it has been designed to carry the listener through an emotive and memorable experience, leaving them with a unique and long-lasting connection.

The melo-tech-death sound of Symbolik is more on the unforgiving side of things. Emergence dishing out the brutalities with veritable ease while never straying too far into ‘noise’ territory. It is loud, it is very in your face and very aggressive but with a strong vein of emotive melodies throughout.

The opening trio of Augury of Ancients, Invoking Oblivion and A Tyranny in Decay nailing the ferocity and technical marvel of their sound to perfection.

There’s no let up as the band continue to showcase their blistering abilities on their individual instruments. Dirge of All Creation, In Servitude of Silence, Souls of Deception and When Eternity Collapsed proving Symbolik are more than deserving of being at the top of the melo-death ranks. The proficiency shown is one thing, the technical abilities are another, the explosiveness almost the icing on the cake but when it’s all put together, it creates Emergence and what a wonderful thing it is too.

Symbolik – Emergence Full Track Listing:

1. Augury of Ancients
2. Invoking Oblivion
3. A Tyranny In Decay
4. Corridors of The Consumed
5. Dirge of All Creation
6. The Void
7. In Servitude of Silence
8. Souls of Deception
9. Perceptions of Reality
10. When Eternity Collapsed




Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | The Artisan Era

Symbolik - Emergence (The Artisan Era)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
4 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!