Album Review: Shuriken Cadaveric Entwinement – Constructing The Cataclysm (Comatose Music)

Drawing on the complex history and vibrant mythology of the samurai, the powerful warrior caste of feudal Japan, Shuriken Cadaveric Entwinement have carved out their own kingdom of intense and characterful death metal.

It’s been nearly a decade since multi-instrumentalist Jordan Varela (Lust Of Decay) and vocalist Jay Barnes (Cesspool Of Vermin) unveiled their second album, Resuscitating The Vile and it seemed that the demonic duo may have fallen on their swords, consigning Shuriken Cadaveric Entwinement to the dust of ages.

However, the silence has now been irrevocably shattered as third album, Constructing The Cataclysm tears its way from the creative womb! It will be released on August 5th, 2022 via Comatose Music.

The long wait is finally over. Shuriken Cadaveric Entwinement are back and as savage as ever. This new album proving to be as beastly as anything the band has ever done before and then some. Featuring eight examples of filthy death metal, Constructing the Cataclysm is a blistering example of how talent can turn death metal noise into something so listenable and appealing.

Talent that comes from source material that adds some charisma to proceedings and talent that comes from instrumental control on a top tier level. Shuriken Cadaveric Entwinement’s mix of bloodying riffs, bone-crushing percussion and throat-scrapping vocals is monumentality intense and heavy.

Buy Me a Coffee at

It speaks volumes that Shuriken Cadaveric Entwinement are able to come back with such a bang. Especially as the extreme metal bar has risen and risen to impossible heights over the past decade. The more time spent with Constructing the Cataclysm, the more obvious it becomes that the masters are back to take their rightful place on the throne. Aided by a fascinating touch of historical and mythological detail that their interest in samurai and feudal Japan has. Something that is understated in most cases, but relevant.

Tracks like Insidious Spiritual Incarceration and Tribunal of the Oni are undoubtably the best examples of how Shuriken Cadaveric Entwinement infuse those elements into their sound. Though elsewhere, the likes of Breaching the Gates of Tranquillity and Fragmenting the Profane deliver cutting examples of brutality.

Seriously savage stuff.

Shuriken Cadaveric Entwinement – Constructing the Cataclysm Full Track Listing:

1. Insurrection of the Diabolical
2. Breaching the Gates of Tranquillity
3. Insidious Spiritual Incarceration
4. Awaiting the Infinity of Oblivion
5. Irrevocable Siege of the Abominable
6. Fragmenting the Profane
7. Tribunal of the Oni
8. Constructing the Cataclysm


Facebook | Comatose Music


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Shuriken Cadaveric Entwinement - Constructing The Cataclysm (Comatose Music)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
8.77/10 (3 votes)