Album Review: Of Hatred Spawn – Of Hatred Spawn (Boonsdale Records)

The latest blistering death metal entity Of Hatred Spawn have announced the release date for their self-titled debut album, which will be out worldwide December 21st, 2018 on Boonsdale Records.

The band’s studio and live line-up consists of JJ Tartaglia (Skull Fist) on drums, his brother Remy Tartaglia on guitars, Oscar Rangel (ex-Annihilator) on bass and Matt “Coldcuts” Collacott on vocals. The project is the first-ever collaborative offering by the Tartaglia brothers.

Hatred Spawn 2

Main songwriter Remy Tartaglia comments:

“The music is very aggressive and the lyrics are written from an evil standpoint, from the perspective of a demonic entity or being. This is an exercise in creative theatricality which provides depth to the art form. My aim is to immerse the listener into the sound and story of the songs, like a good book movie or video game. Some may also find the sound and themes to be empowering providing strength and comfort during consumption. The music has this effect on me and it is my intention to covey this feeling, to have listeners feed off the music’s aggression in a positive way.”

What’s with aggressive death metal having a melodic piano intro? It happens far more than it should and always feels a bit pointless. This is no different on Of Hatred Spawn’s Overture as they immediately go all out with hyper death metal noise on the following 6 tracks. We’re talking ferocious vocals, guitar squeals and licks that are sharp enough to cut flesh and percussion that could grind bones into dust.

A really energetic album, Of Hatred Spawn certainly throw their all into delivering a raging, nasty and dirty sounding record. It spits and snarls at you like a wounded beast and has zero issue with taking a chunk out of you should you come too close. Nest of Vipers is a hell of the track. With some absolutely mind-blowing drumming even if the guitar squeals do get a little much after a while.

Then there is the filthiness of Plaga. An infection that leaves you shaken and ready to vomit before Nocturnal Swarm delivers a gut-punch filled with force.

It’s death metal and there is only so much that can be done to squeeze new life out of the sub-genre but Of Hatred Spawn certainly give it a good go.

Hatred Spawn 1

Of Hatred Spawn – Of Hatred Spawn Full Track Listing:

1. Overture
2. Global Dehumanization
3. Nest of Vipers
4. Severed Limb Convulsion
5. Plaga
6. Nocturnal Swarm
7. God of Wrath

You can order the album now via Boonsdale Records here. Find out more and keep up date with news by checking out Of Hatred Spawn’s Facebook Page and Instagram.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Of Hatred Spawn - Of Hatred Spawn (Boonsdale Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)