Album Review: Nicumo – Storms Arise (Inverse Records)

Storms Arise is the second album from Finnish melodic metal act Nicumo. The new album was released on July 7th 2017 via Inverse Records.

Nicumo 1

The Dawn is a nice melodic start which shows of the emotive side of Nicumo, something that is spread throughout their brand of metal. There’s a real melancholy sound to their music, something that instantly comes across on the rhythmic Old World Burning.

Beyond Horizon draws you in, demanding your attention thanks to the catchy hooks & fist pumping beat. Vocalist Hannu Karppinen has great range on him, soaring through the clouds before bringing everything crashing down with splashes of gut-rumbling heaviness.

Storms Arise’s melancholic sound doesn’t go far enough to describe what is an album filled with memorable choruses & slamming riffs. Tracks like Unholy War, Guilt & If This Is Your, God I Don’t Need One mix heavy riffing with rougher vocals while keeping the melodic edge. These songs are the ones that stand out the most.

On the flip side of that, songs like Death, Let Go, Sirens & Poltergeist are dripping with emotion. Vocals that soar & rhythmic elements that take your breath away.

That’s not to say it’s perfect. There are times you are just hoping it’s going to let rip & while on occasion it fires off a killer guitar solo it’s often short-lived, leaving you feeling unsatisfied.

The penultimate track Aiolos is disappointingly bland in comparison to the rest of the album. It’s got very little bite & leaves barely an impression by time it finishes. Fortunately Storms Arise ends on a high. Dream Too Real is a lengthy epic cementing the melancholy rhythm alongside crushing death metal style vocal moments & some of the heaviest riffs on the album.

A very strong finish to a very good album. It’s rhythmic quality stands out thanks to the emotional edge the music has.

Nicumo 2

Nicumo – Storms Arise Full Track Listing:

1. The Dawn
2. Old World Burning
3. Beyond Horizon
4. Unholy War
5. Death, Let Go
6. Guilt
7. Poltergeist
8. If This Is Your God, I Don’t Need One
9. Sirens
10. Aiolos
11. Dream Too Real

Head over to Nicumo’s website for more information & to pick up the album. You can also stream it via most major platforms including Apple Music below. Check the band out on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, ReverbNation & YouTube.

Nicumo - Storms Arise (Inverse Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.