Album Review: Necromantia – To The Depths We Descend… (The Circle Music/Hell’s Fire Records/Rabauw Records)

Necromantia are considered to be one of the most influential bands of the black metal genre. The band was created in late 1989 by two like-minded individuals: The Magus (bass/vocals) and Baron Blood (8-string bass). Their aim was to create original, powerful and innovative diabolical music, replacing the usual 6-string guitars with 8-string bass and joined forces with various musicians in drums, lead guitars, keyboards and innovations in order to complete their magical formula. Their first recordings earned them cult status in the scene since their music was original, ritualistic and utterly sinister.

Necromantia never hesitated to use “non-metal” instruments like saxophone, percussions etc. in addition to their standard metal orchestrations, and that option made them unique and established their own individual sound. They have released three demo tapes, four full albums, one mini album, one split album, one split EP and various 7” EPs and re-releases.

Having darkness as a compass they kept creating music for almost three decades. A source of inspiration for younger bands, breaking boundaries and expanding the Necro universe.

In 2019 Baron Blood departed from this world. The Magus decided to dissolve the band but not before creating a last opus as a tribute to his lost brother in darkness. The album is entitled “To the Depths We Descend….” with a release date of October 15th, 2021 via The Circle Music, Hell’s Fire Records and Rabauw Records.

The Magus says:

This is our farewell album. This album in itself is a tribute to our member Baron Blood who left the mortal world in November 2019. I decided to write and record the last pieces of music as Necromantia as a farewell to our loyal fans all these years.

It may sound strange to their ears since we use guitars again since our Promo Tape 1990 but the use of the 8-string bass belongs to Baron Blood and it will remain with him.

So here you have 6 new songs (+ re-recording of two of our iconic tracks “Lord of The Abyss” and “The Warlock”) which I suggest that you listen to in their entirety since they represent the many faces of Necromantia’s musical spectrum and each one of them is a story of the whole. Our compass was always the desire to deliver quality and innovative extreme dark music and our head may be bloodied but it is still unbowed. So, dive one last time into our wondrous Abyss and let yourself be guided by our music.

From the bottom of my soul, I thank you for all your support in all these 32 years of our existence.

An album with heart. It might be blackened but it beats none the less. To the Depths We Descend… is a fitting tribute to a fallen brother. In that it is unflinchingly Necromantia. A black metal tome that errs on the more traditional sound but is still littered with imaginative and unique elements.

Musically it’s a wild ride of assorted black metal vehemence. Ranging from long-form expulsions like Daemonocentric and Eldritch to detailed treks into the ether with And the Shadows Wept (… For Baron Blood) to dark melodious offerings like Give the Devil His Due to short-form blasts like Inferno and the title track.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Made up of six original tracks and the two re-recorded classics, Necromantia say farewell in surprisingly expressive ways. The death of Baron Blood and the resulting end of the band is felt in every second of To the Depths We Descend…

Perhaps those who have been along for the ride since day one will find themselves touched emotionally upon hearing the two re-recorded track, Lord of the Abyss and The Warlock. Placed at the end of the alum and thus, the end of Necromantia, it’s a fitting conclusion to a great album and a legendary career.

Necromantia – To the Depths We Descend… Full Track Listing:

1. Daemonocentric
2. As the Shadows Wept (…For Baron Blood)
3. Give the Devil His Due
4. Inferno
5. Eldritch
6. To the Depths We Descend…
7. Lord of the Abyss MMXXI
8. The Warlock MMXXI


Bandcamp | The Circle Music | Hell’s Fire Records | Rabauw Records

Necromantia - To The Depths We Descend... (The Circle Music/Hell's Fire Records/Rabauw Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
8.18/10 (6 votes)