Album Review: Napalm Death – Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism (Century Media Records)

Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism is the 16th studio album by British grindcore band Napalm Death, released on the 18th September 2020 through Century Media Records.

Few bands have proven to be as vital to the heavy metal scene as Napalm Death. In one form or another, they’ve been causing chaos since 1981. An endearing staple, their style of furious grind has been thrilling listeners all over the world and they’ve always managed to sound relevant to the times.

Which is perfect for the shit-show of a year that is 2020. The world could do with a bit of Napalm Death right now.

With a seemingly impossible amount of fire in their bellies, the grinding fury of the band erupts in glorious chaos with Fuck the Factoid. Vocalist Barney Greenway is on pure beastly form, spitting out lyrics like “filthy fucking factoid sprouting norms”. While the filthiest of riffs are thrown out, bassist Shane Embury grinds his fingers into dust and the drums are pounded like they owe money.

Buy Me a Coffee at

It makes each following speeding noise-machine as thrilling as the previous. Backlash Just Because, Contagion, Zero Gravitas Machine, Fluxing of the Muscle and a Bellyful of Salt and Spleen proving that Napalm Death have once again delivered a world-beating grind album. Once again Napalm Death have delivered a necessary albuum and one with weight behind it too.

The impressive content of Napalm Death’s years and willingness to do exactly what they want makes everything so fresh and interesting. Especially when they take a side-step away from the pulverising sound they’ve made famous. Such as on the tempo shift and rockier, Amoral.

“When our emotions summon ghosts, they scratch the wound and feed the host”.

Napalm Death – Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism Full Track Listing:

1. Fuck the Factoid
2. Backlash Just Because
3. That Curse of Being in Thrall
4. Contagion
5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
6. Invigorating Clutch
7. Zero Gravitas Chamber
8. Fluxing of the Muscle
9. Amoral
10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
11. Acting in Gouged Faith
12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen


Website | Facebook

Napalm Death - Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism (Century Media Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!