Album Review: Mist – Free Me Of The Sun (Soulseller Records)

The Slovenian priestesses of doom, Mist will release their debut album Free Me Of The Sun on June 1st 2018 via Soulseller Records. Staying true to their traditional doom roots the band builds upon strong riffs with bright female vocals and epic guitar solos.

Mist 2

Free Me of the Sun is 10 tracks of dark, occultist doom that goes far to spread the good word of doom. A foot-tapping beat, strong vocals and a stirring guitar solo gets things started strongly with The Ghoul.



Ora Pro Nobis, White Torch and Altar Of You then continue that good work with a mix of solid doomy riffing, throbbing bass hooks and inspired soaring vocals.

Mist’s offering isn’t going to change the face of doom but it is going to make people sit up and take notice of them. The methodical approach to Disembody Me is a great example of a track that feels both familiar and fresh at the same time.

A haunting vocal performance turns The Offering into something special and Delirium’s guitar work is on another level before the title track ends things with a mellow beat that picks up about halfway through. A nice bit of guitar groove does wonders for making a slightly flat finish sound that much better.

Mist 1

Mist – Free Me Of The Sun Full Track Listing:

1. The Ghoul
2. Ora Pro Nobis
3. White Torch
4. December
5. Altar Of You
6. Disembody Me
7. The Offering
8. Demonized
9. Delirium
10. Free Me Of The Sun

You can order the album via Soulseller Records here and via Mist’s Bandcamp here. Find out more and keep up to date with news by liking their Facebook Page and subscribing to their YouTube Channel.

Mist - Free Me Of The Sun (Soulseller Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *