Album Review: Metal Allegiance – Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty (Nuclear Blast)

Metal Allegiance is a super-group that formed in 2015. The band consists of Mark Menghi (bass, songwriter), David Ellefson (bass), Alex Skolnick (guitar) and Mike Portnoy (drums). Vocals are often picked up by contributing artists, something of a staple of Metal Allegiance.

Album number two, Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty continues that with a wide array of guests that include John Bush, Max Cavalera, Johan Hegg and Troy Sanders.

Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty is out today via Nuclear Blast.

Metal Allegiance 2

An album of bombastic heavy metal tunes, with such an array of talent you can be confident that the majority of the tracks that make up this second album will be great.

It begins strongly too as The Accuser’s wailing guitars introduce a dirty, thrash-infused opener that shows off the incredible drum talents of Mike Portnoy. A high-tempo heavy metal tune with some serious guitar soloing gets the head-banging immediately.

Then Bound by Silence (with the always excellent John Bush on vocals) brings wickedly thumping groove. Mother of Sin with Bobby Blitz is a more frantic affair and the high-pitched vocals makes for a nice change in sound. Terminal Illusion is probably the only track of the first 4 that doesn’t hit as hard even though the guitar riffing is pure class. It just lacks a memorable hook and the vocals are a bit muted.

Do you know whose vocals really aren’t muted though? Johan Hegg of Amon Amarth who guests on King With a Paper Crown. A contender for track of the album as his heavy, throaty style push the rest of the band to heavier heights and even a melodic, trippy drop around the 4 and a half minute mark doesn’t dent its impact.

The ripples from that earth-crushing impact is felt into Voodoo of the Godsend and Liars & Thieves. The former, a track that sounds like it was written specifically for Max Cavalera‘s Soulfly/Roots-era Sepultura. The latter fails to capture the energetic spark that has led the last two tracks even if Troy Sanders vocals continue to amaze me.

Coming to an end, it has to be said that Metal Allegiance have stepped up their game on album number two. It feels less like a collection of singles and more of a complete album especially when it closes out with two tracks featuring Death Angel’s Mark Osegueda, who kills it.

Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty ends with a bit of the ‘epics’ thanks to the unmistakable power of Nightwish’s Floor Jansen. Her vocal talents are remarkable and the chorus of this finale is powerful stuff.

Metal Allegiance along with their bevvy of guests have crafted a hell of an album here.

Metal Allegiance 1

Metal Allegiance – Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty Full Track Listing:

1. The Accuser (feat. Trevor Strnad)
2. Bound by Silence (feat. John Bush)
3. Mother of Sin (feat. Bobby Blitz)
4. Terminal Illusion (feat. Mark Tonillo)
5. King With a Paper Crown (feat. Johan Hegg)
6. Voodoo of the Godsend (feat. Max Cavalera)
7. Liars & Thieves (feat. Troy Sanders)
8. Impulse Control (feat. Mark Osegueda)
9. Power Drunk Majesty – Part I (feat. Mark Osegueda)
10. Power Drunk Majesty – Part II (feat. Floor Jansen)

Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty is out now and can be streamed and bought via all major services and retailers. Check out Metal Allegiance’s website and head over to Nuclear Blast to buy physical copies of the album.

[amazon_link asins=’B07DXD8PR7,B07DQN8H9G,B07DQVRVXW,B07DQN2B3T’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’7b189ecb-b232-11e8-b05d-6d02d70c771a’]

Metal Allegiance – Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty (Nuclear Blast)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)