Album Review: Luna Kiss – Following Shadows (Self Released)

Alternative Rock crew, Luna Kiss, charge into 2019 armed with the relaunch of their new album, Following Shadows, which arrives everywhere on Friday 12th April 2019.

To date, Luna Kiss has released a number of very well received EPs, including Conjure and Sin (2013) and Gravity (2015). While these releases have created a solid foundation for the Coventry-based crafters, it was only last year that the quartet’s amorphous vision had truly come into sharp focus. Channelling influences taken from across the musical spectrum, Luna Kiss exhibit an admirably stoic refusal to be pinned down to one genre.

Luna Kiss 2

“Our live shows are dramatic, energetic and creative, and an extension of what you hear on the album” states drummer James Pedley. “We’ve toured through Europe, playing everything from small venues in small towns to major festivals in Amphitheatres, and it’s all really helped us to explore and challenge our sound”.

Lead vocalist, Wil Russell, adds: “Following Shadows is the culmination of many musical influences and life experiences we have gathered during our time as a band – it’s the record we all wanted to make and we’re really proud of what we created. We’re looking forward to sharing it with everyone.”

The alternative, moody and melodic vibes that Luna Kiss sends out with Hold On is the sound of a confident band. Confident that their emotive rock tunes will more then deliver an experience that touches the heart and soul.

As a starting point, its nice rocky start with a dreary sounding middle which is hardly an exciting listen. Monochrome follows that up by being even more melodic with softly sung vocals. It’s every bit an ‘emo’ track as you could expect.

Two tracks of varying quality will leave some unsure of just what they’re getting with Following Shadows. So its up to You Are to cement things with a blend of rocking riffs and soaring clean singing. A much better track thanks to the extra sting in the guitars, something that also helps Unfamiliar rise up out of blandness.

It’s not that Following Shadows is a particularly bad album, it’s just one that is very difficult to get too excited about. Some tracks have moments, others sound more complete but most have little longevity. The best stuff comes from Hart’s more passionate approach, Close’s energetic riffing and the expansive Take Her Away.

These three tracks in particular really showcase the best that Luna Kiss have to offer. Elsewhere it varies way too much to really have lasting impact and far too many dour notes will leave many feeling cold.

Luna Kiss 1

Luna Kiss – Following Shadows Full Track Listing:

1. Hold On
2. Monochrome
3. You Are
4. Unfamiliar
5. Hart
6. Close
7. Tribulations
8. Take Her Away
9. Following Shadows
10. Gravity
11. Not Afraid

Head over to Luna Kiss’ website to find out more and order the album. You can also keep up to date with their news by liking their Facebook Page, following them on Twitter, Instagram and subscribing to their YouTube Channel.

Luna Kiss - Following Shadows (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 6.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!