Album Review: Labyrinth Entrance – Monumental Bitterness (Godz Ov War Productions)

Hailing from Poland, Labyrinth Entrance will release their six-track black metal tome, Monumental Bitterness on January 15th 2018 via Godz Ov War Productions.

Monumental Bitterness 2

A six-part (Canto) album, Monumental Bitterness is a bleak, darkly ferocious listen. One that rends the flesh from the bones with blackened riffs, thumping drums & haunted roars.

Canto I grabs you by the scruff of the neck, dragging you into the murky darkness before Canto II pushes your head under the water. The latter of the two offers real surprise as the guitars give off an unexpected level of groove to the cold sound.

Monumental Bitterness is quite different to a lot of black metal albums. It mixes the old-school nastiness & rawness with a more modern musical approach. Throw in some uncomfortable sounding effects & what we have here is an eye-opening listen. Nowhere is that better exemplified then on the stunning Canto III, a track that transcends all that black metal is & can be.

Canto IV & V confirm what you should already know by this stage…that Monumental Bitterness is a slice of darkness that won’t be forgotten anytime soon. A dark, twisted & vile sounding record but one that you will become immersed in. Perfectly balanced, perfectly weighted…the latter of the two finishes off an incredible record with the most intense black metal riffs of the album.

Monumental Bitterness 1

Labyrinth Entrance – Monumental Bitterness Full Track Listing:

1. Canto 0
2. Canto I
3. Canto II
4. Canto III
5. Canto IV
6. Canto V

You can order the album now over on Godz Ov War Productions’ Bandcamp and find out more about Labyrinth Entrance on Facebook.

Labyrinth Entrance - Monumental Bitterness (Godz Ov War Productions)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *