Album Review: Kvlt Of Eblis – Templo de la Serpiente Negra (Morbid Skull Records)

Exploring the mystic paths through fire and faith, Kvlt of Eblis chooses raw energy filled black metal as the medium to demonstrate the black side of Magick. After unerringly reaping the supernatural seeds for over three years, the coven is finally set to conjure up their first opus, ‘Templo de la Serpiente Negra’, on August 31st 2018. Morbid Skull Records will be unleashing it on jewel case and limited-edition digipak CDs.

Eblis 2

The beat of a drum and chanting vocals of the Intro goes some way to telling listeners just what they’re getting with Templo de la Serpiente Negra. It’s a ritual and blood will be split.

Directly after the eerie start, Kvlt of Eblis unleash horror. El despertar de la bestia is a nasty bubbling pot of raw blackened metal mixed with some thrash and death influences. The howling vocals alongside the feral pace of the guitars and drums is terrifying but the occultist vibes still remain strong.

Look no further then the intro of Vudú where dark shadows grow & evil beings gather. It keeps it short though, instead focusing on a more ‘battering’ style of dark-fuelled metal. It’s harsh on the mind but not unlistenable. What Kvlt of Eblis were going for, the soundtrack of magick, they’ve certainly accomplished that.

A slower and smokier start to Rex Mortis adds some variety before it intensifies and Hekate really pushes the hellishness of Kvlt of Eblis’ environment even further. It has to be said that these two tracks, one after another show some real depth and quality to the album as a whole. Before you’ve even realised it, you’re part of the ritual…the sacrifice.

By contrast Lepaca Lilith & Portal Utérico are more straight-forward high-tempo tunes that provides a sickening amount of guitar riffing and blackened vocal screeches. Both tracks add more weight to a hell of a heavy album.

Eblis 1

Kvlt of Eblis – Templo de la Serpiente Negra Full Track Listing:

1. Intro…Apertura a los tronos negros
2. El despertar de la bestia
3. Vudú
4. Rex Mortis
5. Hekate
6. Lepaca Lilith
7. Portal Utérico

You can order the album via Morbid Skull Records here and find out more about the band by checking out their Facebook Page.

Kvlt Of Eblis - Templo de la Serpiente Negra (Morbid Skull Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)