Album Review: Klogr – Keystone (Zeta Factory)

Melodic metal band, Klogr will release their new album, Keystone on the 6th October via Zeta Factory!

Vocalist, guitarist & founder, Rusty had this to say regarding the themes behind the album:

“Man proclaimed himself the “Keystone” of our system but he is just a guest, a not-essential animal. Without a lot of underestimated living beings, like bees, the cycle of nature would suffer serious damages. The earth without human beings could exist, human beings without the earth, cannot”

Klogr 2

In the vein of bands like Avenged Sevenfold, Bullet for my Valentine & Trivium, Klogr set themselves on the right course with the thrilling & catchy Sleeping Through the Seas followed by the meaty vibe of Prison of Light. Quite different sounding songs but with one major thing in common…extremely enjoyable metal with a modern melodic edge.

While there isn’t a whole load of surprises here, it’s still an album that will raise a smile or two.

This is fist-pumping metal. Technocracy’s brilliant riffing, the ballady The Echoes of Sin with its blasts of fire, the stomping groove of Something’s in the Air & the thought-provoking vocals of Dark Tides.

A handful of tracks stop it being a faultless experience though. Pride Before the Fall is a tad boring failing to grab the attention, the melody in Drag you Back doesn’t sit comfortably (although the guitar solo is damn good) & Silent Witness just doesn’t go anyway particularly interesting.

The hard rocking beat of Enigmatic Smile alongside some really grabbing hooks keeps the final minutes of the album weighted towards the positives. It’s followed by the last track on the album, The Wall of Illusion. A trippy intro into the finale quickly hits its riff peaks with a mid-point drop in tempo keeping it fresher. It’s a solid finish although it would have been nice to see the band open up a little bit more.

Klogr 1

Klogr – Keystone Full Track Listing:

1. Sleeping Through the Seasons
2. Prison of Light
3. Technocracy
4. The Echoes of Sin
5. Pride Before the Fall
6. Something’s in the Air
7. Drag You Back
8. Sirens’ Song
9. Dark Tides
10. Silent Witness
11. Enigmatic Smile
12. The Wall of Illusion

Head over to Klogr’s website to order the album now where you can also find all you need to know out about the band. Like them on Facebook, follow them on Twitter & Instagram, watch some of their videos on YouTube & Vimeo & hear some of their music on ReverbNation, LastFM & Pure Volume!

Klogr - Keystone (Zeta Factory)
  • 7/10
    The Final Score - 7/10
User Rating 0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.