Album Review: Khôra – Timaeus (Soulseller Records)

Soulseller Records is proud to announce the forthcoming full-length debut album from Khôra! Timaeus will be unleashed April 17th 2020 on CD, LP and digitally.

Started as a one-man project by mainman Oleg in 2012-2013, Khôra strives to manifest the limits of Extreme Metal and produce both ethereal and ferocious tunes. After the first demo in 2016, Kranos joined on vocals and Lars (DØDHEIMSGARD) joined on bass, both helping shape the core line-up. Timaeus shows magical contributions by Vicotnik (DØDHEIMSGARD), Henri Sorvali (FINNTROLL), A. Simonen (AND OCEANS), and many others!

Featuring amazing artwork by Sergey Shenderovsky and several guest musician contributions, Timaeus is a carefully-crafted album that runs the gamut from black metal to death metal, infused with symphonic and progressive elements. The album was recorded between 2017 and 2019 and follows the theme of the creation of the universe by three omnipotent entities, loosely based on Plato’s dialogue of the same name.

Delightfully ethereal, deliciously dark and deliriously heavy. This new album from Khôra will shake you to your core. With twisted black metal savagery imprinted on its very being, Timaeus is not your traditional ferocious release. For starters, it crosses the line into progressive and symphonic on many an occasion. All while retaining an underlying depth of epic.

A lot of the varying soundscapes that come from this album is from the varying guest musicians. However, it mostly never sounds like individual songs by individual people. This is thanks to the vein of blackness that runs through all 11 tracks thickly.

Not only that, it’s consistently and constantly heavy, the thump of percussion shaking the bones. The flames that erupt from the riffs, the scale of the vocals that maim and scar… Timaeus is a savage yet thrilling listen.

Khôra – Timaeus Full Track Listing:

1. Aether
2. Noceo
3. l’Annihilateur
4. Harvesting Stars
5. De Vetus Ad Novum
6. Roe Too Noo (Flow Of The Mind)
7. Sempiternal
8. Existence
9. The Purge
10. The Occultation of Time
11. Void




Facebook | Soulseller Records

Khôra - Timaeus (Soulseller Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!