Album Review: Joensuu Riihimäki – Highwater (Self Released)

Combining roots rock with singer song-writer melody, Joensuu Riihimäki are two-piece from Finland. Their latest album, Highwater was released on December 1st 2017. We recently interviewed them here.

Joensuu Riihimäki 1

All about feel-good & optimistic rock, this offering from Joensuu Riihimäki is all about leaving you with a smile on your face. From the catchy Hillbilly Falls to the wonderfully melodic 21 to the folksy The Ballad of James John Belclaire. Joensuu Riihimäki showcase a hefty amount of talent in their song-writing abilities.

The focus is memorable, soul-searching tunes with some genuinely brilliant moments of bluesy roots rock such as on the country-esqe I’ve Not Heard?

What makes Highwater such a compelling listen isn’t just the fantastic melodies coming from the guitars but the moving vocals also. The Lake & So Much Left Worth Taking really highlight this with the former’s added touch of female backing vocals excelling.

The final track, The Garden Road confirms how much talent exists in Joensuu Riihimäki as it delivers tight keyboard melody, sultry vocals & a harder rockier end.

Joensuu Riihimäki 2

Joensuu Riihimäki – Highwater Full Track Listing:

1. Hillbilly Falls
2. 21
3. Keep on Marching
4. Farewell, So Long Luanne
5. The Ballad of James John Belclaire
6. I’ve Not Heard?
7. The Lake
8. Missing Zoe B.
9. So Much Left Worth Taking
10. The Garden Road

[amazon_link asins=’B077PXRS49,B077PLV3V5,B077PLTR23,B077PTMGMC’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’e00ed8cc-0d3f-11e8-9ac3-31707f309fc8′]

You can find out much more about the band by going to their website here. You can also stream or buy their music on Spotify & Apple Music below. Also check them out on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTube.

Joensuu Riihimäki - Highwater (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.