Album Review: Gorevent – Fate (Comatose Music)

For fifteen years now Gorevent have lurked in the deepest recesses of the brutal death metal underground, delivering a series of albums, EPs and split releases that have stood as blood splattered monoliths in those shadowed catacombs  – Teeth Of The Divine hailing their 2008 full length, Abnormal Exaggeration, as one of the greatest examples of extreme brutality ever recorded.

That though, was before they had heard the single minded savagery of Fate… Fate is driven by relentless hunger and undiluted primal instinct and with the power of Comatose Music behind them, this is where the story of Gorevent really begins. Treasure the trappings of civilisation while you can, because the end is nigh. Fate is out on February 7th 2020.

It’s raw. Oh so very raw but what else should you expect from slam/death metal? Especially when it’s coming from hungry bands like Gorevent? Fate is a defiant statement, one that says it’s time for the world to start paying attention to Gorevent and it’s time to start giving slamming death metal the dues it is owed.

Let’s not beat around the bush here, this is a sickeningly primal record. It harks back to a time when humanity was feral and life was about trying to survive the horrors of the world. Well, actually not that different now, which kind of makes Fate a pretty relevant listen.

The eight tracks that make up Fate are the sounds of creatures howling on a starless night. Of crunching bones and dripping blood as another victim is claimed. Of maggot ridden corpses as rot gets to work. This is the stuff of nightmares and it might very well be one of the best extreme releases of the year.

Gorevent can do this in a way that beggars belief. Not only is it the sound of a band reducing themselves to bloody messes but it’s the sound of variety. This is not the same thing over and over again. A momentous achievement.

Gorevent – Fate Full Track Listing:

1. Confront
2. Justice
3. Keep it Tightening
4. Swell
5. Energies
6. Round 13
7. Fate
8. Day to Head


Facebook | Comatose Music

Gorevent - Fate (Comatose Music)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!