Album Review: Dragonforce – Extreme Power Metal (Metal Blade)

On September 27th 2019, power metal shred machine Dragonforce will unleash their 8th full-length album, Extreme Power Metal, worldwide.

Regarding Extreme Power Metal, guitarist Herman Li says:

This album again combines the best of DragonForce in an even bigger, more epic way than we have ever done before. We are so excited for fans to hear it!

Are you ready for some shredding as only the power metal beast that is Dragonforce can deliver? Hold on to your asses, ’cause the Brits have played a blinder on Extreme Power Metal.

A super uplifting, 80’s tinged intro before the familiar speed and intensity of the band arrives on the feel-good Highway to Oblivion. An opener that puts a big, silly smile on the face as it races along with bouncy power metal goodness. The solo/shred-fest that has become their staple is well and truly present for the finale of the track.

The band know that they’re infamous for their ‘shred-fest’ ways so it’s with tongues in cheeks that they go all out with Cosmic Power of the Infinite Shred. The chorus that sees the vocals get higher and higher, the super-high tempo and drop, as well as the synth effects nail what it is to be Dragonforce in 2019.

A Far-East melody leads The Last Dragonborn, a power metal track if there ever was one. The melody is killer and the chorus is one of the best on the album. Heart Demolition is Dragonforce at their most hyper and really using their 80’s inspirations to great effect. Whereas Troopers of the Stars and Razorblade Meltdown are just that little bit heavier but with choruses that are fiery feel-good. The latter’s soloing is so Dragonforce, it’s almost funny.

That’s not a knock. It’s what they do and what most love about them even if the ‘less is more’ saying goes in one ear and out the other with this band.

Strangers then goes the power-pop route, the kind of track that is like a mad mix of Dragonforce and Journey. In A Skyforged Dream then keeps things on course, momentum high before the penultimate track, Remembrance Day lifts the spirits with bagpipes!

Part of the intro, the guitars then take the beat over and if the rest of the album hasn’t made you smile, this wonderfully catchy and inspiring number will. However, if by some miracle you’ve fought the urge then the final track will guarantee it.


It’s only a bloody cover of Celine Dion’s My Heart Will Go On. Yes, the song from the 90’s Titanic movie!

This is so much fun, way more fun then it has any right to be. By using synth/chip-tunes to change the melody at the start, it’s immediately different. Then Dragonforce ‘dragonforce’ it up as only they can. It’s very recognisable still but played at a frantic and super-shreddy pace. It’s a banger.

As is the album as whole.

Dragonforce – Extreme Power Metal Full Track Listing:

1. Highway to Oblivion
2. Cosmic Power of the Infinite Shred Machine
3. The Last Dragonborn
4. Heart Demolition
5. Troopers of the Stars
6. Razorblade Meltdown
7. Strangers
8. In A Skyforged Dream
9. Rememberance Day
10. My Heart Will Go On (Celine Dion Cover)


Pre-order | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Twitch


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Dragonforce - Extreme Power Metal (Metal Blade)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)