Album Review: Commander – Fatalis (The Unbroken Circle) (Black Sunset/MDD Records)

Commander have been around a while having been founded back in 1999 and over the years have grown to a real heavyweight of the German Death Metal underground scene. On April 13th 2018, they will unleash their third album entitled, Fatalis (The Unbroken Circle) via Black Sunset and MDD Records.

Commander 2

Delivering thrash groove alongside unrestrained death metal, Commander made impact immediately with the title track getting the head-banging party going. Furious riffing, intense blasts of drumming & venomous vocals make up a nine-track album that doesn’t stop giving.

Crunching track after track that calls to the beast that hides in all of us. The heaviness of Chaos Awakening, the ripping riffs of Insidious Greed and the unbelievable pace of Invidia keep things impressively metal. The latter of the three is the most traditional death metal sounding of the album.

Beyond that Commander don’t really obey the rules instead creating an album that has so much quality rhythm. Look no further then Superbia as a track that is impossibly hook heavy.

The standout moment of the entire album comes with the penultimate track, And Death Swings the Scythe. The unexpected guitar strumming start flows into a bone-crunching level of death groove withe tempo changing on several occasions before it returns to the original strumming melody.

An impressive album ends with a short blast to the face. Shattered Existence is an out and out death metal track that is all about getting the pit well and truly going.

Commander 1

Commander – Fatalis (The Unbroken Circle) Full Track Listing:

1. Fatalis (The Unbroken Circle)
2. Locust Infestation
3. Chaos Awakening
4. New Slave Democracy
5. Insidious Greed
6. Invidia
7. Superbia
8. And Death Swings the Scythe
9. Shattered Existence

You can order the album now via Bandcamp and pick up earlier releases via their webstore. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking their Facebook Page.

Commander - Fatalis (The Unbroken Circle) (Black Sunset/MDD Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.