Album Review: Chubby Thunderous Bad Kush Masters – Come & Chutney (Riff Rock Records)

London based band, Chubby Thunderous Bad Kush Masters (which includes former Dopefight frontman Owen Carty) have been turning heads on the UK’s burgeoning underground scene. Their debut EP ‘Earth Hog’ fused sludgy, blues riffs with stoner rock overtones which was followed by the Split EP ‘Special’ with Ten Foot Wizard in 2017.

Now, Chubby Thunderous Bad Kush Masters are set to release their debut album Come & Chutney via Riff Rock Records on July 13th 2018.

The album features several guest appearances including guest vocals from Chantal Brown of Vodun, guest guitar solo from Gary Harkin of Ten Foot Wizard, and guest keyboards by Thom Carter of Riddles on closing track ‘Psychedelic Hallucinogenic Vagrancy’.

Kush Masters 2

A tongue in cheek approach to psychedelic stoner/sludge metal, the fuzzy rawness shows in an instant that Chubby Thunderous Bad Kush Masters are no joke band though. Doggy Bag of Slurry kicks things off with a stoner heavy haze of tripped out riffing and amplified fuzz before Krones of the Kiln ups the tempo to give it a bit of snarl thanks to its short length.

After a riff heavy Cojones Feos, Glue Ear drops some gut-rumbling bass and high-tempo sludge and Döner Trump plays a political hand with no question about Chubby Thunderous Bad Kush Master’s allegiance.

“I hope you burn in hell. I hope you fucking die”

The trippy and spacy sounds of Psychedelic Hallucinogenic Vagrancy end things in surprising fashion as it is by far the most expansive track on the album. Certainly, a surprising finale but a damn good one!

Kush Masters 1

Chubby Thunderous Bad Kush Masters – Come & Chutney Full Track Listing:

1. Doggy Bag Of Slurry
2. Krones Of The Kiln
3. Cojones Feos
4. Glue Ear
5. Gutlads
6. Gawdless
7. Döner Trump
8. Psychedelic Hallucinogenic Vagrancy


[amazon_link asins=’B07DJLXMD4,B07D1GSM2K,B07D1HL4DR,B07D1H3563′ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’d8ca4dc0-6d78-11e8-b293-d7bc2b7ae51a’]

You can order the album via Bandcamp, listen via Spotify and via Apple Music below. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking their Facebook Page and following them on Instagram.

Chubby Thunderous Bad Kush Masters - Come & Chutney (Riff Rock Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)