Album Review: CHMCL STR8JCKT – DRK PRGRSSN (Cleopatra Records)

Bringing dark industrial rock to the masses, CHMCL STR8JCKT will release their new album, DRK PRGRSSN on February 12th 2021 via Cleopatra Records.

A bit jarring, stupidly catchy, impressively danceable and with a ton of industrial heaviness to it, DRK PRGRSSN is a hell of a lot of fun. An album that makes you hark for the non-pandemic days where packing out dark and dingy goth clubs was actually possible. Many of the tracks on here, you could totally see yourself getting down and dirty too. Tracks such as Texas, Chosen One (some serious Rob Zombie vibes here), Destroyer and Gonna Die. The most energetic and wild sounding efforts. Credit to the vocals as that’s what really ramps up the craziness.

Though, there’s far more going on elsewhere too. Tracks that give off an eerie and horror vibe (Tendril, Wrecking Machine and Syrinx) and tracks that double down on the electronica in a more intense and weird way (1911, Death Of, Capesius and Sacred Rope). Then there’s the downright insanity of something like Harpy where the synergy is akin to a fit.

Buy Me a Coffee at

What makes DRK PRGRSSN such a praise-worthy listen is that it’s the kind of record that could have mass appeal. Fans of industrial rock will eat it up but those who like catchy and danceable rhythms will also get along with it. As will those who like their music to have some bite without being overtly heavy. These are just some of the bases that CHMCL STR8JCKT cover on their kick-ass new release.

If you need a pick-me-up, something to do a frantic house-clean too or just something to woo that potential partner over Zoom, this is the stuff.


1. Texas
2. Tendril
3. 1911
4. Chosen One
5. Destroyer
6. Death Of
7. Wrecking Machine
8. Capesius
9. Syrinx
10. Harpy
11. Sacred Rope
12. Gonna Die


Bandcamp | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

CHMCL STR8JCKT - DRK PRGRSSN (Cleopatra Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
9.55/10 (2 votes)