Album Review: Burial – Satanic Upheaval (Apocalyptic Witchcraft)

UK black metal outfit Burial have joined forces with Apocalyptic Witchcraft and are set to release their third album ‘Satanic Upheaval’ through the label on the 8th May 2020.

The band who hail from the bleak industrial landscapes of Manchester dedicate their raw no-frills brand of extreme metal to the grim, goat worshipping origins of the black metal genre. Satanic Upheaval follows their take on occult themes with a misanthropic view of the world.

No frills, no wackiness and no compromise. Burial come at you with fists swinging and with serious violent intent in her eyes. Satanic Upheaval is as black metal as black metal can be and we can bow to the lord of darkness in thanks.

The fire burns incredibly hot from the very first blazing note to the final inferno that closes out this 10 track showcase of brutality. However, it has to be noted that Burial are absolute pros at this and the likes of Void of Decay, Decayed By Time and Cursed By the Light are expansive and provoking tracks. Ultimately though, this is an album that will be remembered for the sheer viciousness that Burial exude.

It will leave you in a cold and dark place but one that Burial occupy so you’ll be glad to be there.

Burial – Satanic Upheaval Full Track Listing:

1. Encircled By Wolves
2. Void Of Decay
3. Hellish Reaping Screams
4. Beneath The Filth
5. Destruction Absolute
6. Decayed By Time
7. Barren Lands
8. Devour Your Soul
9. Satanic Upheaval
10. Cursed By The Light


Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Big Cartel

Burial - Satanic Upheaval (Apocalyptic Witchcraft)
  • The Final Score - 9.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)