Album Review: Bloodclot! – Up in Arms (Metal Blade Records)

Out now via Metal Blade Records, Up in Arms is the new album from Bloodclot! 12 songs, 29 minutes…Bloodclot have plenty to say but not a lot of time to get all their aggression out.

Bloodclot 1

12 songs of rowdy punk & hardcore music opens with the fiery beat of the album title, Up in Arms. The longest song on the album at just over 4 minutes, Up in Arms ends up falling a bit flat at first but in the final minute or so it ups the energy to circle pit levels.

There is no disputing the energy Bloodclot have, it just feels a bit wasted on some of the more lifeless sounding songs such as Fire & Soldiers of the New Babylon.

Here’s the thing though, when they get it right it absolutely slays. Such as on the excellent Maniac, the catchy Kill the Beast & the destructive quality of Prayer. Short & intense blasting moments fare much better with Kali being a particular highlight.

A slamming solo & some catchy vocal work on Slow Kill Genocide keeps the second half of the album strong. It’s stands out for a more rhythmic approach especially when jammed in between Kali & the Slipping into Darkness. Another short fiery attack.

You’ll be the Death of Me mixes a rolling drum beat & groovy sounding bass with furious verses & a really catchy chorus. It’s the most coherent song on the album but also the most exciting. It combines a lot of what Bloodclot have brought to the table already creating a finale that won’t be forgotten anytime soon.

Up in Arms is a bit of a mixed bag. It does so much right & with 12 tracks the positive really outweigh the negative. A few too much ‘middling’ sounding tracks stop it from being a great album though.

Bloodclot 2

Bloodclot! – Up in Arms Full Track Listing:

1. Up in Arms
2. Fire
3. Maniac
4. Kill the Beast
5. Prayer
6. Siva/Rudra
7. Soldiers of the New Babylon
8. Kali
9. Slow Kill Genocide
10. Slipping into Darkness
11. Life as One
12. You’ll be the Death of Me

You can pick up the album now via most major streaming services as well as through Metal Blade Records’ store here. Keep up to date with Bloodclot’s plans by liking them on Facebook!


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Bloodclot! - Up in Arms (Metal Blade Records)
  • The Final Score - 6.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *