Album Review: Bizarrekult – Vi Overlevde (Petrichor)

Coming from Oslo, Norway, Bizarrekult is bridging the two identities of its masterminds – the philosophical depth of frozen Siberian steppe and the majestic beauty of Norwegian soil. Formed back in 2006 as a response to the chaos of their surroundings and already with a first demo which got attention through split CD release.

Following the second studio demo and then a two-track rehearsal demo in Bergen, the project was laid on ice. Until now…

Vi Overlevde (we survived) speaks to the heart of every post-black metal fan that is looking for something different. It will be released on June 4th, 2021 via Petrichor.

Oozing horror, the intro of I Mørket makes it perfectly clear that the experience of this album will be rooted in darkness. The darkness of black metal but with complicit post elements to enhance everything to an even bleaker plane of existence. Misery loves company and Bizarrekult want you with them.

Buy Me a Coffee at

It’s hard not to happily join them once the blackened power of For 1000 År Siden and Galskap is heard. Fire and brimstone stuff from cold lands. Hand in claw, Bizarrekult lead the way into darker and deeper depths of post-black metal apprehension. Ut I Skogen – one of the longer efforts on the album and also one of the more desperately gloomy sounding.

Skrik I Tomhet, Alt Er Bortkastet, I Trygge Hender… keep up because Bizarrekult are not hanging around. The middle of this album comes with vigour and so much indelible blackened vehemence it’s startling but more importantly, so pleasing. If you read the word ‘post’ and panicked, fear not, this is still very much a black metal album and leans way more towards the harsher side of things than the melodic.

Fremmede Kyster offers up a chance to breathe as it’s a couple of minutes of haunting melody before we’re right back into it with Ensomhet and Siste Ord. Two nasty behemoths that make it clear Bizarrekult haven’t just survived, they’ve grown and transformed into something much more beastly.

That they go out with a atmospheric whimper (in that it’s soft – not that it’s bad) Avskjed just puts more emphasis on the exhausting whirlwind that was just experienced.

Bizarrekult – Vi Overlevde Full Track Listing:

1. I Mørket
2. For 1000 År Siden
3. Galskap
4. Ut I Skogen
5. Skrik I Tomhet
6. Alt Er Bortkastet
7. I Trygge Hender
8. Fremmede Kyster
9. Ensomhet
10. Siste Ord
11. Avskjed


Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram

Bizarrekult - Vi Overlevde (Petrichor)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
8.9/10 (6 votes)