Album Review: Belphegor – Totenritual (Nuclear Blast Records)

Totenritual is the 11th studio album from the Austrian extreme black metal band, Belphegor. It is out now via Nuclear Blast Records. You can read our early review of the previously released single, Apophis – Black Dragon here.

Belphegor 2

With the crashing of riffs & drums, Belphegor get Totenritual off to a ferocious start. Baphomet’s destructive nature with its explosive drum beats & bile-encrusted vocals sets the bar high very early. This is intense black metal played loud & heavy. This is not about melody, the only emotion that Belphegor want you to feel is hate.

Totenritual is an album to make a group of god-worshipers sweat under the collar.

With 2017 being such a great year for all types of extreme metal Belphegor had to bring their A game. With the likes of the mind-blowing The Devil’s Son, the pure heaviness & contrasting vocals of Swinefever – Regent of Pigs & the stunning guitar work of Totenkult – Exegesis of Deterioration they have brought it & then some.

Enough can’t be said about the amazing drumming that drives most of Totenritual to such a resounding success. Bringing an extra layer of heaviness to bludgeoning riffs & some of the dirtiest vocals heard this year.

Nowhere is the brutality of this album showcased better than on the penultimate track, Embracing a Star. A stop-start style of a metal assault when it kicks back in it has some of the heaviest riffs & drumming of the entire album. Most importantly it’s not without rhythm which is what makes it such a great track & album.

The soundtrack to death & destruction.

Belphegor 1

Belphegor – Totenritual Full Track Listing:

1. Baphomet
2. The Devil’s Son
3. Swinefever – Regent of Pigs
4. Apophis – Black Dragon
5. Totenkult – Exegesis of Deterioration
6. Totenbeschworer
7. Spell of Reflection
8. Embracing a Star
9. Totenritual

You can check it out yourself below via Apple Music.

Belphegor – Totenritual (Nuclear Blast Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.