Album Review: As We Suffer – The Fallen Pillars (Self Released)

Ottawa, Canada’s As We Suffer, an amalgamation of several heavy genres rolled into one, will release their debut album ‘The Fallen Pillars’ on April 30th, 2021.

A concept album, the theme revolves around the pillars of truth. Each song dealing with destructive concepts and beliefs that we, as a society/people, should not prop up as truths. It is a journey of unhealthy and damaging thoughts/emotions that explore existentialism, politics, religious fanaticism, and truth through different styles of heavy music.

A little metalcore, a little bit hardcore, a little bit groove… but a hell of a head-banging heavy metal album, As We Suffer bring blistering intensity on the opening pairing of Caustic Paradigm and Malicious Compliance. Tracks that are perfect for opening up a big pit of sweating bodies and neck-breaking behaviour. The former has the speed while the latter has the kick-ass groove.

The taste of things to come, there’s even more heavy mayhem to come as the unit rip, smash and blast their way through An Open Letter (to the Bleeding Hearts), Fucking Relentless, Invade the Host and The Great Leveler. The ripping coming from the shred-fest that is the guitars, the smashing coming from the drums and the blasting coming from the unforgiving vocals. Although it has to be said that the clean singing parts are very Killswitch Engage like.

Buy Me a Coffee at

They really seem to only have one speed and it is constantly frantic. Eye-watering speed but with a hefty supply of riffs and hooks to keep the mind active throughout. Lively doesn’t cut it. Tracks like High Tide, Scatter the Herd and Shadows Caste in White have so much life in them, it’s limb jerking and flinging stuff. They really make you want to move.

Everything about this album makes you want to move. As We Suffer are a relentless bunch and few won’t be feeling a bit exhausted by time the final pairing of Concrete Fist and the title track deliver another battering. Although the latter’s gravitational groove is up there as one of the album’s best efforts.

As We Suffer – The Fallen Pillars Full Track Listing:

1. Caustic Paradigm
2. Malicious Compliance
3. An Open Letter (to the Bleeding Hearts)
4. Fucking Relentless
5. Invade The Host
6. The Great Leveler
7. High Tide
8. Scatter The Herd
9. Shadows Caste In White
10. Concrete Fist
11. The Fallen Pillars


Facebook | Instagram


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

As We Suffer - The Fallen Pillars (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)