Album Review: Armory – The Search (High Roller Records)

Armory are a speed/thrash metal outfit from the city of Gothenburg, originally formed in the late summer of 2012 (out of the ashes of a band called Resurrector). After two demo tapes and the well-regarded debut album called World Peace … Cosmic War (issued via High Roller Records in 2016), they are back with a brand new studio effort called The Search out on July 13th 2018 via High Roller Records.

Armory 2

The Search is not looking to surprise anyone. It is 11 tracks of hyper-fast thrash metal with a little infused punk. There is no point looking for anything more complex then a hefty slice of metal that gets the head-banging.

Their no-nonsense approach serves then well though as the likes of Rise Above, Star Voyage, Bringer of Light and Heavy Metal Impact fire off red-hot riffs and roaring solos as if they’re going out of business. The latter of that bunch is one of the more imaginative efforts of the album.

What begins in fairly pedestrian fashion, certainly picks up the longer it’s on. The standard speed starts to feel right and the excitement level builds for each track as Armory are no slouches when it comes to keeping things at a high-tempo. It ensures The Search isn’t going to be forgotten the moment it ends.

Armory 1

Armory – The Search Full Track Listing:

1. The Search
2. Hyperion
3. Rise Above
4. Star Voyage
5. Vault Seven
6. Bringer of Light
7. Heavy Metal Impact
8. The Twin Suns of Solaris
9. Utomjordisk Dominans
10. Polymorphic Intruders
11. Hisingen Warriors

You can order the album now via High Roller Records.

Armory - The Search (High Roller Records)
  • 7/10
    The Final Score - 7/10
User Rating 0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!