Album Review: Antropofagus – Origin (Agonia Records)

Origin is Antropofagus’ long-awaited fourth studio album. The Italian brutal death metal quartet will have the album released via Agonia Records on October 28th, 2022.

The album features guest appearances from Mike Montaguti (Electrocution), Matt Sotelo (Decrepit Birth) and Dallas Toler-Wade (Narcotic Wasteland, ex-Nile).

Like the video nasty of the same name, Antropofagus is a gory and brutal slice of intense horror. Violent and aggressive, the savagery on show throughout Origin is enhanced by the technical prowess the band contain. Ten tracks, ten slabs of heaviness, ten slices of blood-spattered death metal.

Along with some stellar guests, Antropofagus make a strong case for having delivered one of the 2022’s most ruthless records. From the moment the title track begins in demonic fashion, Antropofagus dredge the depths of hell to find this much muck and gore, to the moment The Chapter of Letting the Body Perish (M.O.R.T.E. Pt.II) pitilessly smashes skulls and necks. Antropofagus make it clear this is all about ‘shock and awe’. Come in fast, hit as hard and heavy as possible, get out. Leaving nothing but devastation and destruction in their wake.

However, for all their innate aggression, it’s not exclusively what makes this such a notable release. It’s the electrifying and extravagant technical instrumentation. A showcase of tech-death that will make you growl and gurn with joy. Provided you have a taste for the extreme already.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Revoltingly penetrating and unreservedly punitive. The music is complex but not overtly so. Antropofagus balance technical death and brutal death to deliver something that is remorselessly savage. Their lack of restraint only matched by their abilities to delight with their technical prowess.

Antropofagus – Origin Full Track Listing:

1. Origin
2. Downward the Spiral
3. While Nothingness Slithers
4. Oppressed Suffering
5. The Slayer Ascension
6. Of Prosperity and Punishment
7. Ia Anth Etbrae Gagh
8. Hymns of Acrimony
9. Passage of Annulment
10. The Chapter of Letting the Body Perish (M.O.R.T.E. Pt.II)


Website | Bandcamp | Spotify | Facebook | Instagram | Agonia Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Antropofagus - Origin (Agonia Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
8.85/10 (4 votes)