Album Review: Voice Of Ruin – Purge And Purify (Tenacity Music)

Formed in 2008 on the shores of Lake Geneva, Voice Of Ruin will release their 3rd full length album on May 12th 2017 via Tenacity Music.

Voice of Ruin 1

Sometimes all you need is music that is filled with some serious heavy metal bite. Nothing too complicated, just intense music that is akin to a bludgeon to the head. With Purge & Purify, you get & then some. This is music to be played loudly!

Disgust is 3 and a half minutes of brutality, aggressive death metal with plenty of riffs & hooks to keep it ticking along nicely. It’s a solid opener but it’s Horns that really captures the attention. An incredible slice of metal pie that really hits home with its groovy melody, huge guitar solos instrument destroying drums beats.

Things get better & better with the stunning Blood of Religions & Snakes in My Head. Two songs that have super exciting & catchy groove dripping off them.

It’s easy to pigeonhole Voice of Ruin but the 10 tracks on show here offer a surprising amount of variety with an expansive sound. Contrast the likes of All Hail the King & Voices From the Ruins against anything else on the album & you’ll be pleasantly surprised even if the non stop, balls out style isn’t exactly fresh.

Regardless Voice of Ruin step up to the plate & deliver a consistently great metal album. Animal Kingdom’s impressive drum beats heighten the intensity while Time for Revenge goes for ‘the ripping your head off & spitting down your neck’ approach of aggression. It’s addictive listening!

Purge & Purify caps off a fantastic listen with one last attempt to destroy the ear drums. Piracy doesn’t have quite the same bite at this stage but it’s still a hyper-intense finish!

An excellent album filled with 10 tracks of brutal & furious sounding metal. You’ll love every second of it.

Voice of Ruin 2

Voice of Ruin – Purge & Purify Full Track Listing:

1. Disgust
2. Horns
3. Blood of Religions
4. Snakes in my Head
5. All Hail the King
6. I Confess
7. Voices From the Ruins
8. Animal Kingdom
9. Time for Revenge
10. Piracy

You can order Purge & Purify now via Bandcamp, previous work on Amazon, iTunes & merchandise over on Bigcartel. Check out Voice of Ruin over on their official website here, on Facebook, Google+, Instagram & YouTube.

Voice Of Ruin - Purge And Purify (Tenacity Music)
  • 8.5/10
    The Final Score - 8.5/10
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.