Album Review: The Rasmus – Rise (Playground Music)

Legendary rock band The Rasmus have come a long way since their 1996 debut, Peep. An album that set the tone well for the albums to come, with bigger and bigger releases until international stardom beckoned with their first world-conquering hit, In The Shadows, released as the lead single from 2003 album Dead Letters.

From there, they’ve gone from strength to strength with the last year or so being particularly eventful. From once again partnering with renowned writer/producer Desmond Child (Kiss, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith), enlisting new guitarist Emilia ‘Emppu’ Suhonen and representing Finland in Eurovision Song Contest finals back in May.

Which brings us to September 23rd and the release of The Rasmus’ new album, Rise. Due to be released via Playground Music.

A statement making album, Rise is poppy, rocky, and fun. An extravagant release that proves once and for all, you can’t keep The Rasmus down.

Opening with a catchy anthem, Live and Never Die is a crowd pleaser that will have people around the world bouncing up and down on the spot. The Rasmus then up their game with the title track. Kicking the rock side of the band into high gear, transforming the track into orchestral grandness and making the whole listening experience so much more extravagant.

After two animated and upbeat tracks, it’s time for something brooding, darker and stranger with Fireflies. Before Be Somebosy sees The Rasmus transform into an alt-rock act, one that has an unusual and unique gothic tone to their sound. Unexpected but unsurprising variety in the band’s electrifying catalogue.

Like a phoenix rising from the ashes, The Rasmus continue their bold march forward with the heartfelt and dramatic sound of Odyssey. Before a poppy vibe and foot-tapping riffs leave a strong impression with Jezebel and Endless Horizon shows, once again, that The Rasmus do lavish rock like few others. One of the more emotive tracks on the album, the vocals are simply delightful here.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Statement well and truly made, the exclamation point coming from the final three tracks. Clouds, where The Rasmus hit mournful lows. Written in Blood, a powerful and punchy rock hit with some exceptional riffs, and Evil, the finale. A finale befitting of Rise’s eclectic detail and The Rasmus’s stirring sound.

You really can’t keep this band down and Rise is certainly an apt title.

The Rasmus – Rise Full Track Listing:

1. Live and Never Die
2. Rise
3. Fireflies
4. Be Somebody
5. Odyssey
6. Jezebel
7. Endless Horizon
8. Clouds
9. Written In Blood
10. Evil


Website | Facebook | Instagram

The Rasmus - Rise (Playground Music)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
8.29/10 (14 votes)