Single Slam: Volbeat, Cerberon, Blind Hex, Zeal & Ardor, Abertooth Lincoln, Rick Massie, Deafheaven, Sedative and Wormwitch!

This week’s single slam features Volbeat, Cerberon, Blind Hex, Zeal & Ardor, Abertooth Lincoln, Rick Massie, Deafheaven, Sedative and Wormwitch. You can read our thoughts about the latest singles from these bands below.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Volbeat – Wait A Minute My Girl / Dagen Før

The Danish rockabilly heavyweight’s Volbeat have released two brand new singles called Wait A Minute My Girl and Dagen Før (ft. Stine Bramsen).

The former is a short, bouncy and catchy number that ticks all the Volbeat boxes. It would almost be forgettable if it wasn’t for the saxophone solo and frantic keyboard playing. It’s a nice song though.

The latter is much more chilled out and features the impressive vocals of Stine Bramsen who adds some levity to what a soft and relaxed Summer ballad is. Again, it’s not exactly Volbeat breaking new ground, but they do what they do very well.

Cerberon – Outpost 31

Outpost 31 is the latest single from UK heavy metallers, Cerberon. Taken from their upcoming EP.

It begins with dark atmosphere as we hear an emergency call for help. The guitars and drums build up and erupt in crunching ways before the low, guttural vocals give it a death metal flavour. However, that’s not where things stay, and the chorus will really surprise. The warring shouts back and forth sound great, the guitars are super-thick sounding and the drums are akin to pounding footsteps approaching from behind. Check it out here.

Blind Hex – Sorrowless

Mexican symphonic metal band (self-dubbed; Neo Symphonic Metal) Blind Hex have released their latest single, Sorrowless.

The band blend traditional symphonic soundscapes with a fascinating usage of electronica to create something that sounds incredibly bombastic for only being 3 minutes and 33 seconds long. The chorus is particularly fire and vocalist Sharon sounds fantastic. Although, we’d be remise to ignore the guitar talents of Fede as well. The solo is unexpected but very, very welcome. Check it out here.

Zeal & Ardor – Run

One of the most exciting bands in modern times; Zeal & Ardor combine blues, gospel and soul music with the harshness of black metal. The group have released ‘Run’, the first single from their upcoming album.

Leaning way towards the heavier and harsher sound Zeal & Ardor embody, Run is a dark track with a rolling drum beat, dangerous sounding riffing and bursts of fury that make things uncomfortable. It’s a track that will quicken the step as you walk down the street.

Abertooth Lincoln – Mother is Coming

Hailing from Dayton, Ohio, Abertooth Lincolnare an aggressive, spacey, hardcore progressive punk band. They have released their latest single ‘Mother Is Coming’ now.

The quick flurry of technical guitar rhythm, followed by the snarling vocals certainly impresses. The progressive sound, bouncing off a hardcore/punk edge, is surprising but interesting. A bit more unique, clean singing and tighter passages continue to unbalance things but in a clever way. It’s a track that leaves you scratching your head but excited for what else this band has up their sleeves. Check it out here.

Rick Massie – 13

Rick Massie released his latest single, “13” on June 11, 2021. 13 was written and recorded over the course of several nights in April 2021, and marks a departure from Rick’s expected musical style. 13 is a heavy, dark, ominous journey, taking equal parts of inspiration from the downtuned crunch of death metal and the overwhelming darkness of doom metal.

It’s great to hear something new from Rick Massie, whose last album ‘Eclipse’ was a bit of a banger. What’s even better is that 13 is a beast of a track. Even with the knowledge that it is something of a sound departure, the weight of the doom and death infused metal, shocks. This is a thumping bout of heaviness with a gloriously eerie vein of darkness running through it. The midpoint drop into melody is a highlight, especially as it dissipates and builds back up for a stunning shoegaze-style heavy finish. Check it out here.

Deafheaven – Great Mass of Color

The black metal meets shoegaze powerhouse that is Deafheaven have released a brand new single. Called Great Mass of Color, it is taken from their upcoming new album, Infinite Granite.

While not a complete surprise for those who heard Ordinary Corrupt Human Love, the chilled-out guitar tones and singing that greets on this track might make your step falter. It’s a very pop-orientated Deafheaven and it’s going to polarise. Although the latter portion does find the band slip into a more familiar blend of soaring melody and harder heaviness (there’s a scream to wake you up too).

Sedative – Cough Medicine

Metallic Hardcore outfit ‘Sedative’ (previously known as Grenade Brain) are Perth, Western Australia’s newest heavy exports! They have released their debut single and video – ‘Cough Medicine’!

This is some ballsy freaking metal. Balancing the line between slamming death metal and hardcore, Sedative absolutely cause destruction in around 2 and a half minutes. Calling it ‘heavy’ is doing it a disservice as this is the weightiest of metal with short and intense moments of ambient noise to give you ‘catch your breath’ moments. Needed, as this is unbridled intensity done right. Check it out here.

Wormwitch – Abracadabra

Clawing their way out from the clay with a renewed purpose informed by lessons of life and the road, unwilling to lay in peace; Wormwitch have announced their upcoming third album, Wolf Hex – due for release on August 27 via Prosthetic Records. Alongside the album announcement, the Canadian black metal band have released the single, ‘Abracadabra’.

There is some very appealing darkness to this track. Like a beckoning hand that comes out of the gloom, you can’t help but take it and follow. A ripping set of riffs, a nice meaty percussion sound and some savage sounding vocals. This is the meshing of old-school black metal and modern heaviness. Easy to get into, it’s darkness you’ll be more than glad to be lost in. Check it out here.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Single Slam
  • Volbeat - Wait A Minute My Girl - 7/10
  • Volbeat - Dagen Før - 7.5/10
  • Cerberon – Outpost 31 - 8/10
  • Blind Hex - Sorrowless - 8/10
  • Zeal & Ardor - Run - 9/10
  • Abertooth Lincoln – Mother is Coming - 7/10
  • Rick Massie - 13 - 9/10
  • Deafheaven - Great Mass of Color - 6/10
  • Sedative – Cough Medicine - 9/10
  • Wormwitch - Abracadabra - 7.5/10