Single Slam – Up in Arms by Bloodclot (Metal Blade Records)

Bloodclot, the band, have released a single called Up in Arms from their debut album. That album is also called Up in Arms and will be released on July 14th via Metal Blade Records. Bloodclot are a super group that has been around for a while in one form or another. The band formed in 2007, then in 2013 and now in 2017. Each time Bloodclot has been made up of members who have really been influential in their music scenes surrounding the especially influential frontman, John Joseph.

John Joseph is best known as the lead for Cro-Mags, one of the most influential New York Hardcore bands ever. Bloodclot was also John  Joseph’s nickname so you do feel that maybe this group is very much about him. Having said that he is joined by an array of talented and influential people. We have Todd Youth on guitars (Warzone, Murphy’s Law) and Nick Oliveri on the bass (Queens of the Stone Age, Dwarves). The final member is Joey Castillo on the drums (Queens of the Stone Age, Danzig, Blast!).

Up In Arms

Bloodclot have that hardcore/thrash cross over sound pioneered by Cro-Mags. A sound that went on to birth a genre which included bands like Biohazard, Discharge, Sick of it All and Corrosion of Conformity.

The single, Up In Arms is a 4 minute long track which sticks very much to the roots of the band with a hardcore thrash sound. Squealing guitars raise in volume for the intro before it turns into a fast riff. Quick drums and loads of cymbal crashes along with the quick riff give it that loose hardcore/punk feel. The vocals come in short burst sentences – a couple words, pause, a couple words, pause etc…Up in Arms has bucket loads of energy and is an enjoyable listen.

A short bass solo with an ascending guitar line switches the song up for a few seconds near the end before it jumps back in with the rolling riff and thrashy drums. Another switch comes from a drum solo which leads back into the song’s main riff and chorus.

Up in Arms is a good song that is full of energy and rhythm. The vocals are shouted harshly, the drums are fast and loose, the bass and guitar play off each other well. All in all they sound like a band of experienced musicians which is exactly what they are. These guys know what they are doing.  There is a little bit of nostalgia with the cross over thrash sound but in a good way. It doesn’t sound dated. It sounds like it has a place in today’s music scene. Could John Joseph reintroduce hardcore thrash to the masses? Reintroduce it to it’s place near the top of the genre tree? Well, with Bloodclot it certainly sounds like they have a chance.

You can listen to the single yourself here. The album Up in Arms can be preordered from Metal Blade. You can also pick it up from the links at the bottom of the page. Check out the full track list below as well. Be sure to look them up on Facebook and Instagram and make sure you give them a like or follow too.

1. Up in Arms
2. Fire
3. Manic
4. Kill the Beast
5. Prayer
6. Siva / Rudra
7. Soldiers of the New Babylon
8. Kali
9. Slow Kill Genocide
10. Slipping into Darkness
11. Life As One
12. You’ll Be the Death of Me

[amazon_link asins=’B071YNWQ8N,B00003TL7S,B015CVRPHM,B01M69NMO6,B000044TX7′ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’7fee96e5-4606-11e7-9550-b5c7173ab4da’]


Up in Arms by Bloodclot (Metal Blade Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.