EP Review: Thread of Omen – Confined Reality (Self Released)

Confined Reality is the new EP from South African melodic death metal band Thread of Omen. Formed in 2013 and, after several initial line-up changes, they began playing gigs in and around the Cape Town area.

The band has released two full-length albums, Palace of the Fathers (2015) and Vindicta (2017) both of which have been positively received in local and international media.

Thread of Omen currently comprises of Victor van den Heever (vocals), Matthew Cox (guitars), Stian Etsebeth (guitars), Marius Vercuiel (bass), and Jonathan Burgers (drums). The band plays a fast-paced brand of melodic death metal with strong technical and progressive elements, along with aspects of groove and NWOAHM.

Raging from the word go, Threads of Omen bring meaty metal and then some as A Buried Mastodon emerges from the depths. A hard and heavy melo-death performance, the spitfire vocal moments combined with riffs that wash over like lava will stop most in their tracks.

A seriously good start, Archetype is even hotter and even heavier while Autumn, like the season it represents, drops the riffs like leaves falling from trees.

Talking of apt titles, Inherent Violence is a mean track. One with such aggressive intent from Thread of Omen that it’s downright uncomfortable. Doesn’t stop it being a hell of a metal track though.

Finally, Na Vervalle Grafkelders is a bit more of a showcase of the melodic side of the band. It’s still heavy as a concrete slab dropped on heads from height but across the near 8 minute track, Thread of Omen show some depth and invention to their heaviness.

Thread of Omen – Confined Reality Full Track Listing:

1. A Buried Mastodon
2. Archetype
3. Autumn
4. Inherent Violence
5. Na Vervalle Grafkelders


Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube

Thread of Omen – Confined Reality (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)