EP Review: Red Vanilla – Days of Grey (Self Released)

Dundee alt-rock newcomers Red Vanilla will release their debut EP, ‘Days of Grey’, on June 7th, 2024.

Lovely guitar melody, soulful vocals, and a subtle drumbeat is what greets the listener on the opening track, Embers. Red Vanilla choosing to make you feel a little melancholic with a distinctive soft-rock tune that proves to be an earnest and warm start. The biggest takeaway being how it shows off the beauty in this alt-rock band’s sound.

Following that, it’s time for something with some pep, and Outside In has the sound to make you move. Even if, once again, it comes with so much feeling. Get used that though, as it’s such an important part of the Red Vanilla makeup. The band then hitting a powerful new high with Oria, which has a chorus that is simply stunning. That right there might be the best track on the EP.

There is still plenty of high-quality pieces to come though. First, All These Better Things and its anthemic ways, then Velvet and its deeply emotional ways, before The Know How and its blend of dreaminess and vibrancy. There’s absolutely nothing to complain about here, Red Vanilla have crafted a wonderfully impactful EP.

It might be a melodramatic listen overall, but that works for them, and ensures the finale of Detach feels as passionate as everything that came before. A creative closer.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Red Vanilla – Days of Grey Track Listing:

1. Embers
2. Outside In
3. Oria
4. All These Better Things
5. Velvet
6. The Know How
7. Detach


Website | Facebook | Instagram


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Red Vanilla - Days of Grey (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)