EP Review: Napalm Death – Logic Ravaged By Brute Force (Century Media Records)

After a busy and highly successful past year of international touring and continued work on a new studio album, UK Grindcore pioneers Napalm Death are now pleased to announce a new 7” / Digital EP to be released via Century Media Records on February 7th, 2020.

The EP is entitled “Logic Ravaged By Brute Force” and includes the brand-new title-track as well as a freshly recorded cover version of “White Kross”, originally by Sonic Youth. This Double-A-Side EP is not only another highly collectible item in good old Napalm Death tradition, but also meant as first little teaser for the band’s upcoming studio album, expected for release later in 2020.

Frontman Mark “Barney” Greenway checked in with the following comment about the EP:

In keeping with Napalm Death custom, we had a vast swathe of new songs with many different flavours. So then naturally we moved into single territory and opted for ‘Logic Ravaged By Brute Force’. It’s the coldness and desperation of the guitar chords and voice that swung it. And then, seeing as Sonic Youth mash chords like few others, this cover of ‘White Kross’ just seemed to lift itself beyond the constraints of cover – or filler – song into a bit of a rumbling wall-of-sound epic.

The “Logic Ravaged By Brute Force” 7” EP will be available in the following versions:

Black vinyl – Unlimited
Blue vinyl – 200x copies via CM Distro Europe
Light Green vinyl – 100x copies via CM Webshop Europe
Neon Yellow vinyl – 100x copies via CM Webshop USA (Out February 28th!)
Orange vinyl – 600x Exclusively from the band on the road!

It’s always great to have new Napalm Death and as an appetiser to a new album, Logic Ravaged By Brute Force will certainly do. It has all the Napalm Death staples in it; grinding heaviness and no-nonsense barbarism. What might raise an eyebrow or two though is just how rhythmic it is, dare it even be said… it’s a little bit catchy!

If this is a sign of what is to come then Napalm Death’s new album is going to be one to watch this year.

Fleshing out the EP is a cover of Sonic Youth’s White Kross, a like it or leave it track. It’s a fun addition but this is all about the title track and where Napalm Death are taking us with their release!

Napalm Death – Logic Ravaged By Brute Force Full Track Listing:

1. Logic Ravaged By Brute Force
2. White Kross (Sonic Youth Cover)




  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Napalm Death - Logic Ravaged By Brute Force (Century Media Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)