EP Review: Kings Never Die – Raise A Glass (Upstate Records)

When it comes to a tight-knit scene, old school hardcore is famous for everyone knowing everyone. So it should be unsurprising that veterans from Murphy’s Law, Mucky Pup and Dog Eat Dog have teamed up to make magic; Kings Never Die is the result of this collision of forces. After the successful release of their debut single “Before My Time” and a legendary first gig at A7/Niagra in Manhattan, the next logical step is their upcoming EP Raise A Glass, which, according to guitarist Dan Nastasi, showcases “a much harder punk-rock/hardcore style” than the bands he’d been in previously.

Kings Never Die prove that hardcore still has plenty of ammo in 2020. Whether you have a passing interest in the genre or are deeply steeped in its tradition, give Raise a Glass a whirl – you never know what you might find.

Raise A Glass will be released digitally on January 24th via all major streaming platforms and release on 7″ vinyl (Red and White) on February 7th via Upstate Records.

It’s not immediately clear by the riffs and metal start of Before My Time that what we’re about to hear is hardcore. Give it a chance though as that grinds to a halt. The bass hums, the guitars screech and the drums pound out a catchy beat. It enters pissed off territory when the vocals start up and suddenly we have a groovy old-school hardcore song.

Never Know What You Might Find is less coy. With a faster and more in your face punk attitude. Before legends of the hardcore scene pop in to help out on Raise A Glass.

Guesting on the title track is Agnostic Front’s Vinnie Stigma and Mike Gallo and what a blast it is. A proper defiant track, one of respect as the whole gang toast to those who aren’t here anymore. A massive injection of pace really gives it that punk edge but it’s Thy gang vocals that make it stand out from the pack. You’ll find yourself chanting along too.

Finally The Juice shows off even more of Kings Never Die’s groovier riff work while adding even more fury to the chorus.

Kings Never Die – Raise A Glass Full Track Listing:

1. Before My Time
2. Never Know What You Might Find
3. Raise A Glass (feat. Vinnie Stigma and Mike Gallo of Agnostic Front)
4. The Juice


Facebook | Upstate Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Kings Never Die - Raise A Glass (Upstate Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)