EP Review: Idle Hands – Don’t Waste Your Time (Eisenwald)

Rising out of ashes of Prosthetic Records’ traditional heavy metal quintet Spellcaster like a new wave phoenix, Idle Hands are bound to catch the attention of anyone who loves NWOBHM, occult rock or the sleaze of the 80s. Featuring five dark, moody and ballad-esque tracks, Don’t Waste Your Time is their new EP out on November 16th 2018 via Eisenwald.

Idle Hands 2

The high-powered rock riffs that kick off Blade and the Will will get an immediate reaction of excitement. Fast, moody metal with goth tinged vocals tick all the right boxes, it’s as bouncy and groovy as you could hope it to be while having clear NWOBHM influences.

By Way of Kingdom takes the early promise and takes it that extra step by being infectiously catchy. While Can You Hear the Rain really lets the goth-tinged melodies drip through the riffs.

Being only 5 tracks long, Idle Hands mean it when they say they won’t waste your time. The EP flies by in a blur of heavy metal goodness with the penultimate track, Time Crushes All delivering a punchy beat. All before I Feel Nothing closes things out in sombre but heavy style resulting in a really satisfied feeling.

While there is no reinvention here, Idle Hands deliver a solid and inspired slice of metal.

Idle Hands 1

Idle Hands – Don’t Waste Your Time Full Track Listing:

1. Blade and the Will
2. By Way of Kingdom
3. Can You Hear the Rain
4. Time Crushes All
5. I Feel Nothing



You can pick up the EP now digitally over on Bandcamp. Find out more by going to Idle Hands’ Facebook Page.

Idle Hands - Don't Waste Your Time (Eisenwald)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)