EP Review: The Great Russian Empire – Low Ends (Self Released)

A double bass, no guitars dark collective approach is what we get from The Great Russian Empire (TGRE). Their debut EP, Low Ends is out on September 8th 2017.

Low Ends 1

Who needs a guitar!?

A haunting & emotive listen, the EP is more than just dark & throbbing bass. It’s layered with gorgeous vocals & symphonic string instruments, sharing much with the 90’s alternative style of rock (Type O Negative, Faith No More).

The Great Russian Empire have managed to craft an exciting & unique piece of work that is far more than just a bunch of throwaway songs. Full of Blood has a dark echoing melodic vibe while The Hands That Bring the Road Kill to the Side brings a faster & more upbeat style, two songs that are mind-bendingly heavy on the bass but very different songs.

The EP gets under your skin thanks to the fascinating song structure that makes every note & beat sound wildly different to the last. The bass lends itself to a serious heaviness & that is showcased brilliantly on Blood Everywhere, the best track on the EP. An absolute beat-laden number that is packed with fantastic bassy rhythm & catchy vocals.

The double header of the more melodic but trippy vibe of Pig’s Blood & The Fence finish things on a high proving once & for all that bass really is king.

Low Ends 2

The Great Russian Empire – Low Ends Full Track Listing:

1. Full of Blood
2. The Hands That Bring the Road Kill to The Side
3. If Tomorrow Ever Comes (Cop Shoot Cop Cover)
4. Blood Everywhere
5. Pig’s Blood
6. The Fence

You can order the EP now over on Bandcamp & find out much more about The Great Russian Empire by checking them out on Facebook.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

The Great Russian Empire - Low Ends (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *