EP Review: Godthrymm – A Grand Reclamation (Transcending Records)

UK Epic Doom Metal crew Godthrymm are gearing up for the release of A Grand Reclamation, the debut EP from the band. The band consists of current and former members of My Dying Bride, Vallenfyre, Solstice, Malediction and Anathema. The EP will be out March 16 on CD and digital formats via Transcending Records. Vinyl treatment for the EP will come courtesy of Cosmic Key Creations.

Godthrymm 2

Godthrymm deliver on their promise of epic doom instantly with the title track, a unique take on a familiar bassy sound. With vocals more suited for power metal/heavy metal, it contrasts brilliantly against the deep groove of the heavier moments.

Kick ass riffs, throbbing bass lines & crashing drums makes Sacred Soil a highlight before The Pantheon brings a bit more tradition to proceedings.

Godthrymm have an interesting ability to deliver memorable doom. One that sits happily at home alongside the genre family but still holds an outsider moniker. The epic delivery, the more classic metal moments and the blood-pumping vocals makes this an EP to remember.

It’s effectively only three tracks long as Forevermore is a short & light piece of guitar only melody. A strange way for the EP to finish, arguably a bit of a waste of time even if it’s sweet enough.

Godthrymm 1

Godthrymm – A Grand Reclamation Full Track Listing:

1. A Grand Reclamation
2. Sacred Soil
3. The Pantheon
4. Forevermore

You can order the album & merchandise over on Big Cartel. Find out more/keep up to date with news via their Facebook Page, Twitter and Instagram.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Godthrymm - A Grand Reclamation (Transcending Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *