EP Review: Courtney Gains – Safe Haven (Fake Fangs Records)

Renowned actor and celebrated horror icon Courtney Gains, known for his unforgettable roles in classic films such as Children of the Corn and The ‘Burbs, returns to the world of music with his new EP, Safe Haven. Gains recently inked a deal with Fake Fangs Records, who will release Safe Haven on CD and digital formats on October 2nd, 2023.

Offering stripped back rock and roll music with folk sensibilities, tinged with dark humour and a willingness to speak his mind, Courtney Gains may be better known for his acting work, but his musical output certainly deserves attention. Safe Haven features six tracks, three of which have been taken from his movie, Benny Bliss and the Disciples of Greatness.

It’s the title track that gets the show started, melody-led and with chilled-out vibes, Gains’ voice is powerful, but relaxed, and his lyrical content is really listenable. The best thing about this opener is the chorus, which is quite catchy.

The Healer is a direction change and has a few more experimental ideas. Beginning in almost soulful fashion, before transforming into a more vigorous listen that really nails the rock and roll vibe. Then heading into folky blues territory, and back into a dynamic dance along. It’s easy to picture an old-school dive bar with a ton of patrons stamping their feet and moving energetically to this.



The fun continues into Big Brother, which features some ‘on the nose’ lyrical content but delivered in Gains’ sharp-witted way. Something also notable about Bills in Space, a tongue in cheek jab at the billionaire space race. It also just happens to infectiously force the body to move with its wicked rhythm, led by the deep bass humming. Another ear-pleasing track on an EP that does leave a big smile on the face.

Especially when something as bassy as Look Out and as energetic as Good Times comes along. The final two tracks offering up varied rock and roll takes and proving to be as memorable as everything that came before.

It turns out Courtney Gains isn’t just a great actor, he also happens to be a great musician too!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com


Courtney Gains – Safe Haven Track Listing:

1. Safe Haven
2. The Healer
3. Big Brother
4. Bills In Space
5. Look Out
6. Good Times


Facebook | Instagram | Fake Fang Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Courtney Gains - Safe Haven (Fake Fangs Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)