EP Review: Colosso – Apocalypse (Transcending Obscurity Records)

After years of toiling in the underground, putting out six releases of ever-evolving death metal, Colosso have partnered with Transcending Obscurity Records to put out their newest and easily their most ambitious one yet.

Based on the concept of the four horsemen of the apocalypse, founding member Max Tomé has recruited different vocalists for each song to give them their own identity and it helps that they’re reputed figures in the Portuguese underground namely – Guilherme Henriques of Oak and Gaerea, Diogo Santana of Analepsy, and Sérgio Afonso of Bleeding Display.

Furthermore, to lend a human element to this futuristic album, Robin Stone of Norse has taken over the drumming duties, with Alexandre Ribeiro of Grog fulfilling the bass responsibilities, while Max Tomé does the rest.

Apocalypse will be released on February 14th 2020.

The four horsemen commeth and with them comes destruction and devastation so extreme, the mind will just collapse in on itself should it be witnessed. Serving as the soundtrack to this hell, Colosso’s Apocalypse has four tracks, one for each horseman. Four tracks of brutalities and savagery as only death metal can deliver.

This is a band who know what extreme metal requires and know how to turn that into something discernible for the ears. It’s loud, it’s heavy and it’s chaotic. Exactly as the end times will be. Heck, with music like this playing out…there are probably worse ways to go!

The coolest thing about Apocalypse is how each track actually embodies the horseman it is about. Pestilence with its buzzing flies and rotting carcasses of doomy-riffing. War with its speeding ferocity and crushing weight that assaults in the most caustic way. Death with its melody, clean singing and sense of epic, the most ordered and rhythmically pleasing track of the EP. Before the finale of Famine spreads its death-infused wings wide covering all in its dark and deathly haze.

Absolutely brilliant.

Colosso – Apocalypse Full Track Listing:

1. Pestilence
2. War
3. Death
4. Famine




Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube

Colosso - Apocalypse (Transcending Obscurity Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)