EP Review: Black Coven – Everlost (Moonlight Productions)

With leanings towards early Dark Tranquility, Children of Bodom and Ensiferum, the new EP from Austrian band, Black Coven is a celebration of melodic death metal. Everlost is out now via Moonlight Productions.

Black Coven 2

Going for an ‘old-school’ vibe with Everlost, Black Coven look to revive the earlier years of melodic death metal to some degree of success. Does it sound old-school? Very much so. Is there a good thing? Probably. Will it leave an impression? Probably not.

That being said the energy of Ablazing Dawn, a track that switches rhythm on the fly is quite appealing. A little bit angry, quite a bit heavy and even a bit catchy. Then Across the 1000 Lakes ups things that little bit more with a bludgeoning beat and scarring vocal performance. The tempo increases are what will be remembered here again though. Black Coven switching pace with veritable ease.

The third a final track doesn’t change up a working formula and why should it? Ovation of the Wolves is every bit as crushing as you would expect. With a bit more refinement and a bit more pushing, Black Coven could become something very special.

Black Coven 1

Black Coven – Everlost Full Track Listing:

1. Ablazing Dawn
2. Across the 1000 Lakes
3. Ovation of the Wolves



You can pick up the EP over on Bandcamp, Spotify, Deezer, iTunes and via Apple Music below. Find out more and keep up to date with news by checking out Black Coven’s website, Facebook PageInstagram and YouTube.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Black Coven - Everlost (Moonlight Productions)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)