EP Review: Akefal – Opus Darkness (Shadow Records/Regain Records)

Akefal are a new entity hailing from Denmark/Sweden’s ever-thriving black/death scene, and include among their rank’s members from such esteemed cults as Ultra Silvam, Taphos and Blot & Bod.

Shadow Records (distributed & marketed by Regain Records) presents their debut EP, Opus Darkness, on CD and 12″ vinyl formats due to be released on September 24th, 2021.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Oozing harshness and breakneck intensity like a huge sore, Akefal’s debut EP is an uncompromising blast of blackened death metal. Where hell is unleashed, demonic forces come scrabbling up from the depths and humanity has no choice but to fall to its knees and beg for rapture.

There is no end to the suffering meted out by Akefal with neither the black metal or the death metal dominating over the other. Instead they work in perfect harmony with each other, a gleeful expulsion of all that is rotten, evil and nasty in the world.

Of course, the darker your soul, the more appealing this EP will be. The instrumentation is harsh and loud, the vocals are guttural and throaty, the underlying vibe is one of primordial horror. Simply put this is the sound of humanity’s anguish at the hands of hell’s denizens.

Akefal – Opus Darkness Full Track Listing:

1. The First Whore
2. Apotheosis of the Flesh
3. Ravenous Spawn
4. Opus Darkness
5. Towards Nigredo
6. First Ritual of Abomination
7. Definite Savagery


Bandcamp | Facebook | Shadow Records

Akefal - Opus Darkness (Shadow Records/Regain Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)